Thread: Flex Fueling my 2003 Sierra Z71? Any Socal or SD CA mchanics?

Potential Tuner

Flex Fueling my 2003 Sierra Z71? Any Socal or SD CA mchanics?

Hey peeps. I have a 2003 5.3L V8 Sierra Z71 and id like to E85 it,

What is the needed kit to convert the system?
    Is there complete kits to purchase? and or known mechanics who can tune it in southern CA?

I'm a mechanic but no idea how to map PCM to e85. but I can change the everything myself or even let the mechanic make a buck, any help would be appreciated!

Thanks

Senior Tuner
    It shouldn't be too hard to do this as there are a few flex fuel operating systems in that year range.

Can I ask why? Unless its direct injected or forced induction or severely knock limited it will not pick up much if any at all. Maybe you can save money at the pump but that would be questionable with the fuel mileage loss.
    Tuner at PCMofnc.com
    Email tuning!!!, Mail order, Dyno tuning, Performance Parts, Electric Fan Kits, 4l80e swap harnesses, 6l80 -> 4l80e conversion harnesses, Installs

If it's just a highway mile pounder, it would save him money. The city mileage of E85 sucks but I can still get damn near 20mpg on E85 in my newer truck thats rated for 21 on regular 87 octane.
    2016 Silverado CCSB 5.3/6L80e, not as slow but still heavy.

If you don't post your tune and logs when you have questions you aren't helping yourself.

Senior Tuner
    It also depends on if you want it tuned for E85 all the time or flex to switch back and forth. E85 full time you could just put flex fuel injectors and tune it with the OS you already have. For flex you would have to do the injectors and add the alcohol sensor in the fuel line, wire it in to the PCM and flash the PCM with a FF operating system from a 03 truck or SUV with a L59 5.3L.