Thread: What laptops are you big tuners running

Advanced Tuner

What laptops are you big tuners running

Just curious what everyone who tunes for a living is running. I just had my second Lenovo take a dump on me. I like a numeric keypad and touch screens as a couple of my favorite options. My latest Lenovo (Yoga) had crumby USB C ports for the charger and inputs. The charger port broke (I new it wasn't going to last) and my repair guy said it something he can't fix. I also hated using USB C to USB converter boxes for everything.
    I think I might go with a older used laptop that still has regular USB ports. What do you guys think? Any ram or processor minimums to worry about?

Acer Nitro 5 1TB nvme 32gb ram 11th gen i7, wifi 6. and stuff

Advanced Tuner
    Does that have actual usb ports on it?

Advanced Tuner
    Ive got a Dell Latitude E5530 ive been using for 8 or 9 years now. Its been good, I buy a new battery for it every other year.

Just got a Dell Latitude 3520 with normal config. Had my wife take it to work and wipe it clean when it was new and only install what i wanted. Its got a 1TB SSD and 32GB Ram, i think it has the Core I7.
    2 SS USB ports, 1 normal USB port, 1 USB C.
    I wish it had a docking station receiver tho like my E5530 has, Battery last for several hours riding around tuning which is the best part.

I just purchased an HP lappy (12th Gen i7, 16GB RAM, 512GB M.2). It has two USB-A ports and one USB-C. I think if you look around, you'll find both styles of USB ports on quite a few laptops (IOW: Finding ones WITH USB-A ports should be pretty easy if you take a look).
    Working on being HPTuners literate.

- Paul J.

Senior Tuner
    LG Gram. Could use another USB port but great. Battery life is phenomenal. I can tune a full work day and not need a charge. Light and small
    Tuner at PCMofnc.com