Results 1 to 18 of 18

Thread: tuning stage III PCm on ss/sc

  1. #1
    Advanced Tuner black06g85's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    New York, New York
    Posts
    277

    tuning stage III PCm on ss/sc

    Ok just installed the stage III PCM in my cobalt today .. since apparently I reflashed my stock PCm way too many times and it pretty much crapped out on me... (These things happen when you sacrafice you car as a stg kit tester)
    But any way. I can't get the program to read the PCM. keep saying unable to connect, Now Kenny from CA (its his setup) said he's been having problems lately with the cable, but it read on scanner right away and if I do an info scan it comes up
    VIN: YYYYYYYYYY
    model: unknown..
    you guys try readin a stg III PCM and did anybody get it to work.
    I have 60lb injectors in my car, and my AFR is below 10.0 :1 with a 2.55 pulley.
    any anwers or suggestions would be greatly appreciated..

    thanks
    2006 cobalt (no more turbo)
    m62 2.7 pulley, E85, 79lb/hr injectors, 4-2-1 longtube header, airbox mod, stock catback

    1998 Trans am 5.3 iron block 317 heads 88mm turbo e85 105lb/hr injectors, twin 255's.... build in progress

    2014 wrx mild tune 18psi pump gas

  2. #2
    Advanced Tuner black06g85's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    New York, New York
    Posts
    277
    no one?
    2006 cobalt (no more turbo)
    m62 2.7 pulley, E85, 79lb/hr injectors, 4-2-1 longtube header, airbox mod, stock catback

    1998 Trans am 5.3 iron block 317 heads 88mm turbo e85 105lb/hr injectors, twin 255's.... build in progress

    2014 wrx mild tune 18psi pump gas

  3. #3
    Advanced Tuner redhotjamedjimi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Philadelphia, PA
    Posts
    352
    email hptuners with your file log should be easy enough for them.
    2006 SS Cobalt SC
    Stage 2 ZZP Cams
    Headers, 3.0" Full ZZP Exhaust
    60lb inj. Intake.
    2.8 Pulley
    72# Lb. Supertech Springs
    LNF Ext Valves and lashers
    Cobre H/E, option B.
    Torque Damper
    HPTuned.
    Bitchin'
    .

  4. #4
    Advanced Tuner black06g85's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    New York, New York
    Posts
    277
    Quote Originally Posted by redhotjamedjimi
    email hptuners with your file log should be easy enough for them.
    I can't read it to get a log thats the problem, keeps saying cannot connect to VCM...
    2006 cobalt (no more turbo)
    m62 2.7 pulley, E85, 79lb/hr injectors, 4-2-1 longtube header, airbox mod, stock catback

    1998 Trans am 5.3 iron block 317 heads 88mm turbo e85 105lb/hr injectors, twin 255's.... build in progress

    2014 wrx mild tune 18psi pump gas

  5. #5
    Advanced Tuner black06g85's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    New York, New York
    Posts
    277
    anybody else have this. or have this problem?
    2006 cobalt (no more turbo)
    m62 2.7 pulley, E85, 79lb/hr injectors, 4-2-1 longtube header, airbox mod, stock catback

    1998 Trans am 5.3 iron block 317 heads 88mm turbo e85 105lb/hr injectors, twin 255's.... build in progress

    2014 wrx mild tune 18psi pump gas

  6. #6
    Супер Модератор EC_Tune's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Almost 2000 feet.
    Posts
    7,876
    Have you tried a Write Entire?
    Always Support Our Troops!

  7. #7
    Advanced Tuner black06g85's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    New York, New York
    Posts
    277
    write.... I can't even read it...

    put the stock PCM back in... ended up being the s/c was fried...
    2006 cobalt (no more turbo)
    m62 2.7 pulley, E85, 79lb/hr injectors, 4-2-1 longtube header, airbox mod, stock catback

    1998 Trans am 5.3 iron block 317 heads 88mm turbo e85 105lb/hr injectors, twin 255's.... build in progress

    2014 wrx mild tune 18psi pump gas

  8. #8
    Tuner in Training
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    31
    The stage 3 ECM is a COMPLETELY different model. I wouldn't expect it to just work with HPT. It may be an easy fix for them, or it may be completely different.

  9. #9
    Advanced Tuner black06g85's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    New York, New York
    Posts
    277
    I had spoken to sheek360 the other day, he said he knew someone by him that had it and it scanned... I dunno though... but fixed my idle problem and all is good, well at least after I drill out the damn frozen bolt on my sparkplug cover so I can put the correct plugs in.
    2006 cobalt (no more turbo)
    m62 2.7 pulley, E85, 79lb/hr injectors, 4-2-1 longtube header, airbox mod, stock catback

    1998 Trans am 5.3 iron block 317 heads 88mm turbo e85 105lb/hr injectors, twin 255's.... build in progress

    2014 wrx mild tune 18psi pump gas

  10. #10
    Tuner in Training
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    13
    I had no problems reading the stg 2 ECU. Initially had some problems writing it but figured out the issues. Why swap out for a stg3 ECU if you are just going to reprogram anyway?

  11. #11
    Tuner in Training
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    31
    Quote Originally Posted by Guru
    I had no problems reading the stg 2 ECU. Initially had some problems writing it but figured out the issues. Why swap out for a stg3 ECU if you are just going to reprogram anyway?
    The stage 2 is JUST a calibration, not an ECU.. the stage 3 is an ENTIRELY NEW ECU.....

  12. #12

    Stage 3 Info Log

    This ecu won't read. I emailed this info to HP Tuners the day after I read it. I suspect that the guys have a few other things on their plates before they get to this. I supposed I could try to change the vin and try to read it again. The problem is that it runs great, but fuel econ sucks. I don't want to damage the ecu by messing with it either.
    Mark
    Mark

  13. #13
    HP Tuners Owner Keith@HPTuners's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Posts
    6,331
    Need a valid vin in there first.

    Be sure to follow the proper key on/off procedures so the VIN takes.
    We got this guy Not Sure, ...

  14. #14
    The stage 3 pcm comes from GM with no VIN. They sell it over the counter.
    I can try to add the vin and see what happens!
    Thanks!
    Mark
    Mark

  15. #15
    Advanced Tuner black06g85's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    New York, New York
    Posts
    277
    any word on this ???? did it work or not? I took mine out since I figured out what my idle/airflow problem was (f'd up s/c) so all is good
    2006 cobalt (no more turbo)
    m62 2.7 pulley, E85, 79lb/hr injectors, 4-2-1 longtube header, airbox mod, stock catback

    1998 Trans am 5.3 iron block 317 heads 88mm turbo e85 105lb/hr injectors, twin 255's.... build in progress

    2014 wrx mild tune 18psi pump gas

  16. #16
    Tuner in Training
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    16
    Is there any new information from HPTuners if they will consider taking a look at this ECU and seeing if they could make it tuneable? Or if they could figure out a way to mimick the ECU on the stock ECU so you can user adjustable octane mods and rev limiter?

  17. #17
    i had this problem before on a 05 ctsv apparently some of the cars come from the factory with no vin on the computer. all he had to do is go to the dealership and have them add one or refleash it. you should be able to do the same.

  18. #18
    Tuner
    Join Date
    Nov 2021
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    53
    I hope someday someone will open up the stage 3 ecu
    Last edited by smcstevesmc; 12-12-2021 at 10:39 PM.