Thread: Help Please!!!!

Potential Tuner

Help Please!!!!

I have a 2005 GMC Sierra that I swapped the original 5.3 for a 6.0. I also had a Brian Tooley Truck Norris cam installed with Speed Engineering long tube headers and Y-pipe, I am having the problem with the truck idling. It will not stay crank parked or when I come to a stop. I am a newbie, as this is my first attempt at tuning. I value and appreciate any advice please help.
    Attached Files Attached Files

Who set the idle speed to zero for park/neutral?

You need to change the cylinder volume for the 6.0. Copy over a 6.0 VE table. Add some base running airflow because of the camshaft.

That should get it to run better. Lots of other changes to timing and things like that will be needed.

Will want larger fuel injectors too, a 6.0 with a camshaft will max the stock injectors at full throttle.
    2016 Silverado CCSB 5.3/6L80e, not as slow but still heavy.

If you don't post your tune and logs when you have questions you aren't helping yourself.

Potential Tuner
    Thank You

Advanced Tuner
    Quote Originally Posted by 5FDP View Post
    Who set the idle speed to zero for park/neutral?

You need to change the cylinder volume for the 6.0. Copy over a 6.0 VE table. Add some base running airflow because of the camshaft.

That should get it to run better. Lots of other changes to timing and things like that will be needed.

Will want larger fuel injectors too, a 6.0 with a camshaft will max the stock injectors at full throttle.
    GM set the idle speed to 0 on manual transmission stuff. I personally segment swap a matching year/operating system 6.0L stock engine and engine diagnostic segment into engine swaps. Much of the code and many tables that cannot be viewed with HP Tuners are different between the various LS engines. The vehicle will run better if you start with the correct calibration for the engine to start with.

I am well aware of that. His tune file shows it's running an automatic still.