Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: 5.3 bored to 5.7 Tune

5.3 bored to 5.7 Tune

Hello, I am new to this, I have been supporting myself with videos and reading on the internet but I have not been successful.

I have a gen 3 5.3 bored to 5.7 with 243 heads, .660 btr valve springs, stock delphi injectors, long tube heads no cats.

I add a 230/242 113 .625/.605 camshaft.

Adjust the idle and add more airflow but it still needs to hit the throttle and it smells a lot like gasoline. i dont have wideband for now

Can you see my tune and tell me if I'm doing it right? Thank you all

5.3 bored to 5.7 VCM File.hpl5.3 bore to 5.7 Tune.hpt

Senior Tuner
    Quote Originally Posted by Paul_M View Post
    Hello, I am new to this, I have been supporting myself with videos and reading on the internet but I have not been successful.

I have a gen 3 5.3 bored to 5.7 with 243 heads, .660 btr valve springs, stock delphi injectors, long tube heads no cats.

I add a 230/242 113 .625/.605 camshaft.

Adjust the idle and add more airflow but it still needs to hit the throttle and it smells a lot like gasoline. i dont have wideband for now

Can you see my tune and tell me if I'm doing it right? Thank you all

5.3 bored to 5.7 VCM File.hpl5.3 bore to 5.7 Tune.hpt
    The VE table needs to be adjusted next. It's too rich at low rpm and too lean at WOT.
    I would also recommend Zeroing table 12626 base spark adder table. With your current settings, it can add 8-10 degrees timing over your current target.
    Last edited by kevin87turbot; 02-20-2023 at 10:34 PM.

stock delphi injectors
    Well that narrows it down to about sixty or seventy different part numbers! Are they the stock injectors for the year/make/model/engine the tune file is from?

I bet they are the stock 25lb/hr injectors that came with the return style fuel rail on his 2003 Silverado.

They are way to small for the power this engine makes, so he's better off upgrading them now.