Thread: Help with knock

Potential Tuner

Help with knock

2020 F150 3.5EB
    intake
    bov
    exhaust

getting knock its almost always under no load. Just regular driving and I'm getting knock.
    I am a novice Im still trying to figure out how to dial in the lamda i think im getting that down but the timing is just something I don't get yet there's no videos or courses that give that info.
    but any advice on what i can do about the knock would be appreciated.
    Im Running 91 octane highest we have here in az.

I have tried adding 30 percent e85 and it didn't do anything I'm wondering if its false knock or if its something that's not right.

Also i just swapped the tires out for some low pro get better traction its not letting me upload but did a log sense i had to calibrate speedometer and the knock was going crazy. maybe the car was tripping out not sure.
    ill upload once i figure out why its not allowing me to.
    Attached Files Attached Files

Have you replaced your spark plugs with the colder heat range motorcraft plugs? I check a log from my truck (18' 3.5) with E25 and 87 pump mix and I am getting 10 degrees of timing at the same boost level as you. Looks like your truck wants 4-5 degrees of timing at WOT. There is a spot at around 1500 rpm @ .6 load mapped port 5 where I get alot of knock. Looks like you have it too. I set up some histograms so I knew where to remove timing from the stock map so I wouldn't get that part throttle knock.

Potential Tuner
    Thank you I will have to give that a shot. But i had my wheels replaced today I ended up putting on 275/40/20 on the front and 315/35/20 on the back and I don't know what happened but I don't think it likes those lower rpms because the knock just went ballistic.