Thread: In truck bench-like harness at a flick of a switch

Potential Tuner

In truck bench-like harness at a flick of a switch

Hi all,

I am a newbie on tuning and here is a quick sum up of my concerns and ideas with questions for more knowledgeable people here.
    Sorry for my English, I am not a native speaker.

I have a 2003 Chevy Tahoe LT, stock, LM7 engine with P59 PCM.
    I have an aftermarket radio of course, with a PAC AUDIO RP4-GM11 module (includes steering wheel buttons and chimes...)

I previously had a diablo CRM tune loaded with an Intune device.
    I decided I wanted to see more inside and be able to tweak myself, so bought an MPVI2.

I first connected HP Tuners, did a successful PCM read as is and backup this file.
    I then used the Diablo Intune to revert back to stock : OK.
    I then connected HP Tuners, did a successful PCM read and backup this file in 3 different spots, as this is my precious reference stock tune !!

I then made a renamed copy of this file, and changed 3 minor things like disable the rear O2 sensors error reporting, changed the tire size to meet my wheels and disabled the speed limiter.
    Saved the file, then write to the PCM with no problem.

Switched everything off, started the car... all good.

Then decided I wanted to make a read and save the file as the next base to modify as next step... and this is where it went bad.
    I had no way to read. Scanner OK, gathered info ok, but read failed everytime I tried, if my memory is correct on something like boot loader timeout ???

As I have no spare PCM and there is no easy way to find a spare PCM around here... all stayed like this since then as the car was running and I needed it.

Time has passed since then, and I should have tried to read again later on maybe ... maybe now it works, but anyhow, I am afraid of bricking my PCM when doing my next mod and trying to write PCM...