Thread: CL fueling and O2 distance/response w/Longtubes

Tuner in Training

CL fueling and O2 distance/response w/Longtubes

Hello everyone!
    2000 rcsb 5.3: 11.8cr, 231 int dur., 2" primaries.

I am new to HPT so just wanting to ask a couple of specific questions to see what your experiences might help with...

I have the truck dialed in well for OL operation holding at 14.4 - 15.0 on my WB for MAF and SD separately pretty well throughout my range, and even have started some WOT and PE edits. My challenge is as follows:

As I begin to attempt utilizing dynamic airflow and CL- I am going lean on idle snd in the lower ranges below 2500 rpm.

My truck has a lot 3-4X) more volume in the header compared to stock manifolds, plus the O2's are farther away...

I have started experimenting with the O2 rich/Lean switchpoints. I believe I understand what this mV setting does, so I am not really convinced this is the best or correct way to compensate or offset for the header volume and exh. Gas pulse time effect. Do you think this is sound logic? Just trying to decide how much or if the tables should be changed.

Also, I have begun looking at the proportional integral timer. Is this the correct way to address exhaust o2 read time? Initial edits are definitely indicating it has a significant effect on my CL stft's... Does anyone have ideas on how to do this?

Finally, and maybe most interested in- is there a good way to scan either of these parameters which would help yield the best edits or trims for these? Thought about a histo plotting a percentage error between the stock O2's vs the AEM, but really needing a time- in milliseconds I think...

Surely some of you have dealt with, and likely many times! 😉

Thanks for any comments!!

Advanced Tuner
    do you have exhaust past the headers or is it just open headers? also, youre gonna hear this everytime you post on here, post the tune and a log if you got it.

Tuner in Training