Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: 2000 k3500 l29 454, nv4500

Tuner in Training

2000 k3500 l29 454, nv4500

Hello everyone,

I have new to the tuning world, but I have been a mechanic (more on the diesel side) for many years. I am hoping someone can give me a few pointers on my tune I have been playing with. I do have an A/F gauge but do not have it hooked up yet to the log.

I have been doing lots of reading on this site and others trying to get a better understanding of what adjustments to be made. the main use of the truck if for towing, though it is used for a daily as it is a fun truck to drive and gets plenty of looks. I would like to stay with

I did do mid length headers and am running 3 in duals with x pipe to the muffler, and 3.5 out to behind the rear tire. nice part is the truck never had rear O2's to worry about. and I have replaced the injectors with Bosch 4 hole from five 0 performance.

my few areas of concern is that I am getting a stumble on shifting and an occasional KR. there are also a few TPS/MAF positions that seem to have a high fuel correction but areas very close are fine.
    Attached Files Attached Files

Senior Tuner
    See how this tune does for the KR.

Do a log with the Mass Airflow Sensor [Hz] channel added.

Tuner in Training
    Thank you for your help.

Here is an updated log with the HZ channel added. Looks like only one spot where the KR was up much. LTFT at light throttle are showing pulling a lot of fuel. A/F gauge was going from 14.4-15.1 for most of the driving on light throttle.

Senior Tuner
    Fuel trims indicate it needs tuning. If you'd like to begin then load this tune and get a good log like the one you did. Stay out of 100% throttle. It's probably going to run rough on this, but it'll get better as we go.

Be sure to use VCM Scanner>Vehicle Controls & Special Functions>Fuel to clear LTFT and fuel trims after loading the tune and before logging.

Tuner in Training