Thread: 5.3 swap chopacobra cam, headers won't rev

Potential Tuner

5.3 swap chopacobra cam, headers won't rev

this is my first post on here and I am a total newbie to the tuning life. I swapped my s10 and now its time to tune. At this point I have just disabled vats and bumped up the idle 200 across the table. I'm sure I have MANY issues I have to deal with here but I have a goal to learn something here and I'm prepared to burn this truck down learning if that's what it takes lol.
    Anyways the issue I'm having is the truck will idle fine with the MAF plugged in but won't rev over 1/4 throttle, unplug the MAF and it won't idle but will rev just fine. If anybody would be willing to look over my file and give me some suggestions i would greatly appreciate your time.
    tune 2.hpt

Senior Tuner
    We will need to see a datalog to see what is going on with it, but here are a few things to help you get started.

Your OS is an early version that has two VE tables. I typically use the Enhanced Speed Density upgrade on those.
    It'll get you one high resolution VE table. You'll have to do a Write Entire once you do this upgrade.

Focus on dialing in the VE table first. In order to do this, disable the MAF. Just click on the MAF Freq fail high and type in 0.
    Then go to your DTC list and change P0101, 102 and 103 to MIL on First Error.
    Next, go to the Trans Diag section and disable the Max Line Pressure on all three MAF DTC's.

You'll need to remove a bit more fuel from the VE table below 2000 rpm. Looks like you've removed some, but you'll need to remove more. Start by removing another 20% fuel in the first two columns.

Go to the Idle Airflow table under the Base Running Airflow tab and add 5 g/s airflow across the entire table.

Click the Engine tab, then Torque Management, then Abuse and change the Drivetrain abuse to 7000 rpm.