Thread: 2016 ford fusion idle issues

Tuner in Training

2016 ford fusion idle issues

hi my name is Jeremy . im very new to tuning . i changed the head gasket on a 2016 ford fusion 2.0l ecoboost . took .003 in off head . installed new head gasket set. the head gasket was a updated part no. from the 2019+ ford 2.0l the only head gasket option i could find. ford was telling me they updated the head gasket on those to be the same as the 2019+ 2.0l . now this thing cant idle properly when warmed up it drops to 500 rpm then spikes up to 1,000 rpm. then levels off at 750 rpm for a bit then starts all over again. cant find anything wrong . cam timing tools used. no dtc,s i did a compression test and its running around 190. psi on all cylinders. that seems to be to high from what i am finding out. the spark advance data pid runs wild on idle +- 30 deg. idle smooths out some when i take control of spark advance with scanner. the fuel trims run +20 on idle and stay that way till it has boost then they drop down to 0 or - a bit. no vacumn leaks no exhaust leaks . i am at lost here and am wondering if this issue could get tuned. not sure exactly whats causing this idle issue but it idles nicer with upstream 02 sensor unplugged.

Potential Tuner
    Quote Originally Posted by [email protected] View Post
    the fuel trims run +20 on idle
    Its either lean (and adding fuel) or the ECU thinks it is lean and adding fuel. Check again for vacuum leaks. Check again for exhaust leaks. Both will make the engine run lean or make the ECU think that it is lean. Based on the description of your modifications, this is likely a mechanical issue and nothing to do with the OEM tune.

You cannot, or at least should not, tune out a mechanical issue.

Tuner in Training