Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Tuning Advice on a 2006 Pontiac GTO

Tuner in Training

Tuning Advice on a 2006 Pontiac GTO

I am new to the tuning arena and am trying to learn as much as possible. I am sure some of you will be able to offer me some good advice. I have a 2006 Pontiac GTO. It is a 6 speed and is basically stock except for a K&N drop-in filter and I might be putting on some Magnaflow mufflers in a week or so. So yeah, pretty much stock and staying that way.

Without seeing my recorded data can you give me any advice regarding some starting basics (ie: fan temp controls and %'s, VE table etc)? Also, I am getting some knock in 1st and 2nd gear after a mild tune. The factory AFR is 12.0 which is way too rich, so I adjusted it to 12.72. I am not sure why I am getting knock and have a hunch it might be bad gas. I got 91 from Valero. Could that cause KR in the 1.0-2.5 range?

Any advice would be much appreciated. I will try to upload and attach my graphs and info for a point of reference.

Thanks for your help!

Greg

HP Tuners Support
    (foff667)
    just remember what is "commanded" AFR is almost always going to be different then the "actual" afr unless you've tuned the two to match.
    It doesn't have to be perfect, it just needs to be done in two weeks...

A wise man once said "google it"

Tuner in Training
    Bear with me here...can you please elaborate on this? What importance does that play when tuning? LOL I told you I was a newb
    2006 GTO - CGM M6 18s

HP Tuners Support
    (foff667)
    changing your commanded af ratio without knowing your actual afr is not only pointless but also dangerous since your only guessing & hoping everything matches up which it rarely will in stock form. Find our your actual afr & adjust the tables surrounding it to get your commanded to = your actual.

Tuner in Training
    Quote Originally Posted by foff667