Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Need stock tune file for 04 GTO

  1. #1
    Tuner in Training
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Posts
    22

    Need stock tune file for 04 GTO

    My tune file has a glitch which prevents the VSS from producing a vehicle speed signal. I'd like to try a stock tune and if still no vehicle speed then it's likely a hardware problem.
    I'm attaching my tune file in case someone out there way smarter than me sees the problem.
    38.hptThanks.

  2. #2
    Advanced Tuner
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    San Antonio, TX
    Posts
    367
    JTC Performance - Authorized HP Tuners Reseller
    Remote performance tuning

  3. #3
    Tuner in Training
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Posts
    22
    Thank you. I went into the GM folder but i don't know the designation for my 04 GTO ECU.

  4. #4
    HP Tuners Support
    (foff667)
    Bill@HPTuners's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Hailing from Parts Unknown
    Posts
    28,359
    You really shouldn't be flashing other peoples files to your vehicles ecm. You do so at your own risk and against our advice.
    It doesn't have to be perfect, it just needs to be done in two weeks...

    A wise man once said "google it"

  5. #5
    Senior Tuner Lakegoat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    1,550
    On this file, look at the Speedo section and sensor numbers---these are way different. Yeah, don't COPY this file to yours, just look at it and use numbers that you feel will help you. That way, if it doesn't help, you can change back easily.
    Has the trans been changed in that car?
    Attached Files Attached Files
    2000 Camaro SS 2015 L83 port injected, Whipple 3.0, 4L80E, 8.8 Ford
    2013 Silverado 5.3, 6L80k 8.8

  6. #6
    Tuner in Training
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Posts
    22
    Thank you for this Lakegoat. I've been out of town for a week and haven't had a chance to change these speedo numbers but I will tomorrow. Not sure whether or not I mentioned it but I put a scope on the two leads coming from the VSS right at the green plug and get a nice sine wave proportional to the speed of the drive shaft so I know that the ECU is getting the signal. It's just not processing it. Also, the engine and tranny came out of a running GTO so the issue must be in the tune. But where?

  7. #7
    Senior Tuner Lakegoat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    1,550
    The GTO ECM is a P59
    I am thinking that the signal goes thru the BCM to the speedo. Just a guess
    If it is in a different vehicle, then that's the problem.
    2000 Camaro SS 2015 L83 port injected, Whipple 3.0, 4L80E, 8.8 Ford
    2013 Silverado 5.3, 6L80k 8.8

  8. #8
    Tuner in Training
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Posts
    22
    Thanks Lakegoat. It turns out that I had two defective VSS?s. I installed a new third one and I?m now getting speed information and it?s shifting. The two defective VSS?s Both put out sine waves, but only about one volt At idle. The new VSS puts out 8 V at idle so I think the. PCM was not seeing enough threshold to turn it into vehicle speed information. Thanks again.

  9. #9
    Senior Tuner Lakegoat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    1,550
    That has to be a first! Glad you found the problem.
    2000 Camaro SS 2015 L83 port injected, Whipple 3.0, 4L80E, 8.8 Ford
    2013 Silverado 5.3, 6L80k 8.8