Results 1 to 18 of 18

Thread: Help with windows 11 install

  1. #1
    Potential Tuner
    Join Date
    Jul 2024
    Location
    AK
    Posts
    1

    Help with windows 11 install

    I have a problem. I can't get into my old files to tune the car i paid the credit for. How long till hp tuner fixes the install issue on windows 11?

  2. #2
    Advanced Tuner
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    487
    been using it on windows 11 for a few years now. no issues.

  3. #3
    Senior Tuner TheMechanic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    1,681
    Try a right click and install as administrator.

  4. #4
    Tuner in Training
    Join Date
    Nov 2023
    Posts
    17
    Just download 7zip and unpack the installer file and run either VCM_Editor or VCM_Scanner as you do not need to install the software.
    Takes 5 seconds to unpack and have up and running.
    You will need to right click and rename VCM_Editor_exe to VCM_Editor.exe and the same with VCM_Scanner_exe to VCM_Scanner.exe but that is all you have to do.

    OR download UniExtractRC3 from Github as that unpacks it with no renaming required but you need to move the files around as they are in a a sub folder.
    Last edited by SharewareOZ; 6 Days Ago at 01:36 AM.

  5. #5
    Tuner in Training
    Join Date
    Oct 2020
    Posts
    15
    Quote Originally Posted by cartep View Post
    I have a problem. I can't get into my old files to tune the car i paid the credit for. How long till hp tuner fixes the install issue on windows 11?
    I have been trying for months and done everything that everyone on here will tell you what to do.
    Basically hp tuners does not work with all variations of windows 11

    Im looking for other software now to tune the car as this will not work anymore,
    I spoke to a dyno operator and he also told me the same thing

  6. #6
    Tuner in Training
    Join Date
    Nov 2023
    Posts
    17
    Quote Originally Posted by wax View Post
    I have been trying for months and done everything that everyone on here will tell you what to do.
    Basically hp tuners does not work with all variations of windows 11

    Im looking for other software now to tune the car as this will not work anymore,
    I spoke to a dyno operator and he also told me the same thing
    Absolute crap - the software doesn't work because the person behind the keyboard has no idea what they are doing!
    It works fine on Windows 11 - v4 and up to the latest beta so no idea where you are getting your information from because I have used it on multiple laptops with windows 11 and never once had a problem.

  7. #7
    Tuner
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Hillsborough NJ
    Posts
    89
    I have the exact same problem. The HP Program goes through the install but .exe extensions are nowhere to be found. All I get is an HP Tuners folder loaded into documents and a few sub folders like logs and tunes, settings with a number of .cfg files and sub folder called Scanner thats it. The is nothing to be executed and loaded into installed programs. I've use HP for years and always had good results up to and including Windows 10. This Windows 11 program is an abortion.

  8. #8
    Tuner
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Hillsborough NJ
    Posts
    89
    I believe that I have found the problem. Windows 11 is in S mode and the only apps you can install are from Microsoft. You used to have choice when booting up for the first time but now they are making this mandatory. Now to figure out how we can shut off S mode. Its probably done in the Bios but care is need to get in an make the change.

    SOLVED --UPDATE: If you go to windows 11 settings find open and turn on the "developer mode". I recall it was in the security settings. This will allow HP Tuners to install and run Now working on a way to get the large ikons up from the taskbar to the desktop.
    Last edited by dlagrua; 3 Days Ago at 06:47 PM.

  9. #9
    Tuner in Training
    Join Date
    Nov 2023
    Posts
    17
    That should be common knowledge about "S" mode it the biggest bunch of crap Microsoft ever stuck on a new computer but at least it is easy to get rid of it.
    I only use the Enterprise edition so it never affects me.

  10. #10
    Tuner
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Hillsborough NJ
    Posts
    89
    Quote Originally Posted by SharewareOZ View Post
    That should be common knowledge about "S" mode it the biggest bunch of crap Microsoft ever stuck on a new computer but at least it is easy to get rid of it.
    I only use the Enterprise edition so it never affects me.
    Now that the HP Tuning Suite and drivers are installed, the editor will not connect, show credits or vehicle license information. The program does connect to the MVPI box but no data is being imported as to allow reading and editing. As a test the MVPI interface did connect to an old ancient windows 8's laptop that I stopped using years ago so I know its good. I just had to put in request for tech help. At this point I'm stumped.

  11. #11
    HP Tuners Support
    (foff667)
    Bill@HPTuners's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Hailing from Parts Unknown
    Posts
    28,352
    MPVI1 is not compatible with windows 11.

    We Recommend windows 10 with MPVI1 devices
    It doesn't have to be perfect, it just needs to be done in two weeks...

    A wise man once said "google it"

  12. #12
    Tuner
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Hillsborough NJ
    Posts
    89
    Quote Originally Posted by Bill@HPTuners View Post
    MPVI1 is not compatible with windows 11.

    We Recommend windows 10 with MPVI1 devices
    Thats disappointing

  13. #13
    Senior Tuner edcmat-l1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    5BA8
    Posts
    3,818
    I'm using a MPVI1 with windows 11. I've setup a few customers Windows 11 laptops for the MPVI1. It ain't easy but it can be done.

    EFI specialist
    Advanced diagnostics, tuning, emissions
    HPtuners dealer and tech support
    email=[email protected]

  14. #14
    Advanced Tuner
    Join Date
    Feb 2020
    Location
    Metro Detroit Area
    Posts
    380
    I have no faith in anyone who cant figure out how to use a computer, to actually be sucessful tuning. Just sayin. Nothing wrong with Windows 11 or HpTuners.

  15. #15
    Tuner in Training
    Join Date
    Nov 2023
    Posts
    17
    Quote Originally Posted by edcmat-l1 View Post
    I'm using a MPVI1 with windows 11. I've setup a few customers Windows 11 laptops for the MPVI1. It ain't easy but it can be done.
    Yes 100% correct although it really is not that hard depending on your level of expertise.

  16. #16
    Tuner
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Hillsborough NJ
    Posts
    89
    Quote Originally Posted by danmw2003 View Post
    I have no faith in anyone who cant figure out how to use a computer, to actually be successful tuning. Just sayin. Nothing wrong with Windows 11 or HpTuners.
    There is a big difference between tuning and having a thorough knowledge to reprogram computer software. Great results tuning has resulted so far. With tuning you just read/save the scanning results adjust accordingly and follow the wideband. While not a computer novice, have been able to get HP Tuners to load and open on Windows 11 home in developer mode. Past tuning files and even the ability to edit values is there. Need to find a work around to get the drivers to load. Changed a couple of register values that seem to block installation of the drivers but still working on it. The guy who said it ain't easy is correct.

  17. #17
    Senior Tuner
    Join Date
    Jul 2020
    Location
    VIC Australia
    Posts
    1,353
    Whacking it in a win 7 VM should work fine.

  18. #18
    Tuner
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Hillsborough NJ
    Posts
    89
    Quote Originally Posted by hjtrbo View Post
    Whacking it in a win 7 VM should work fine.
    Tried compatibility mode for windows 8 and the MPVI interface still will not connect. Its frustrating as you can view open old tuning files and edit but you cant connect. The real disappointment is that I have about 10 credits on my account and can't use them.
    To go virtual machine I believe it requires the workstation pro app and the windows ISO file. That will be my last resort.
    Last edited by dlagrua; 55 Minutes Ago at 12:45 PM.