Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: VE Table - Normal Driving

VE Table - Normal Driving

I'm looking for some guidance. This is my first time to post and my first time to tune...

I have started modifying my VE Table to tune for normal driving to lower LTFTs (LTFTs are 18-20) on my untuned heads and cam 2002 Z06Corvette.

Do I modify the whole VE Table, or just the columns for the lower RPMs, or please advise otherwise. ???

Thanks

Senior Tuner

Re: VE Table - Normal Driving

The trick here is to drive with an "easy" throttle and try and cover as many cells as you can in the histogram.
    That will give you a better picture of where things need to be tuned.

If you changed the cam/heads you will have to make changes across the entire VE table as you have now changed the ariflow characteristics of the motor.

Pick small sections of the VE table to work on. Use the histogram as your guide. If you are +18 in one area apply a +10% change to the VE table. The idea is to make corrections without over shooting your values.

Then go back an log/test again to make sure you are moving in the right direction. An engine is considered well tuned if you are + - 4% on your LTFT.

It will take some time to make all of the needed changes so be patient. Always save the previous calibrations and make notes on what you changed in case you need to go back a step. Within a few hours you should have your VE table very close.

Ken

Tuner

So Ken, you suggest leaving the IFR table stock, and tune off the VE table?
    98\' T/A, filter/lid, Comp 212-218, 85mm MAF

Senior Tuner

The IFR should reflect the actual injector flow rate.
    While some folks use it for a "quick tune" it should be tuned first to the injector mfgrs flow specs.

That table is supposed to take the place of a vacuum regualtor. If there is a vacuum regulator all of the values on that table should be equal.

Then anything else should be tweaked with the VE table.