Page 1 of 7 12345 ... LastLast

Thread: Flash Protocol

Tuner

Flash Protocol

So there are comands you can send over the OBDII plug that'll dump the flash ROM? As well as commands you can send over the OBDII plug to update the ROM?

Are there also commands you can use to update certain memory addresses or can you only edit by getting the image, editing it, then reflashing it?
    &&-=#Determined to figure out the PCM in my 2k Impala#=-&&http://www.lynoise.com

Re: Flash Protocol

I played with EPROMS where you pull the chip and get the info, hexedit it, and reflash. I am considering a newer PCM for just that reason. I dont want to go to something like megasquirt just yet and I want to be able to add some advance.
    OBDII allows new files to be dumped into the PCM from either a computer interface or a tool. Thats how GM does the upgrade for the supercharger setup on the 2.4 Cavy.
    I am new to the ODBII also so I'm here to learn the new stuff since it will be around for a while.. ;D
    Business Network Solutions - for all your PC, network, printer and computer security needs.

Tuner

OK I found some more info on programming the Flash Rom through the OBD2 port.

There is a "4x mode" (41.6 kbps not the standard 10.4 kbps that VPW uses) that needs to be used. Im not sure which devices support this mode. I have found 1 that does though..
    http://www.avt-hq.com/products.htm#AVT-921 the 921, 931, and 932 support 4x mode. These devices are pretty expensive though. I wonder if the AutoTap v.2 supports 4x mode?
    &&-=#Determined to figure out the PCM in my 2k Impala#=-&&http://www.lynoise.com

The h/w wont really be the problem I dont think..
    The stuff thats missing from the equation is some missing protocols, a good stable loader program etc.
    I'd love to sniff a Tech 2 sometime...

Does anybody even have a loader prog yet? Freeware wise?

Her's what gary told me about whats needed.. Hope he doesn't mind me posting it ;D