Thread: New tuner here with lots of questions.

Potential Tuner

Question New tuner here with lots of questions.

ok...im running a 2001 s-10 4.3, no cats, cold air intake, performance maf sensor, new throttle body (without the block plate).

I see 8 deg kr at 3500rpm at wot as you can see on the scan. question is exactly why I noticed it is running a bit lean I dont know wether to adjust timing or fuel (note vcm did not have time to "learn" fuel trim) honestly I dont exactly know how to adjust them either ex. what table what adjustments and why. I know im a noob and any help would be greatly appreciated.

I tried to firm up the shifts for only under wot conditions. Apparently I never hit that tq range because there is no difference in how it shifts. How exactly does the vcm get it's torque figures so I know where to make the adjustments for the shifts. I only want to firm the shifts under wot because I dont want to be beating the H@#% out of my transmission all the time. I realize theres no way a stock engine will make the 600 ft lb but I figured i'd start there because that was max and I dident know how it got it's tq rateing in the vcm.

Last but not least. Throttle response. I know there it a way to get instant throttle response because before I had hp tuners I had a superchips tune on it that gave me way quicker throttle response in gear and p/n. Unfortunately I had to remove that tune before I got the hp tuners so I couldent get a log of it. Right now even in p/n if I crack the throttle it takes a split sec for the engine to rev...almost as if there is some sort of programmed delay. Any ideas of how to get around it? because i'd love to have my throttle response back.