Thread: Idle surges and dies. Cam w/ 114 LSA

Tuner in Training

Idle surges and dies. Cam w/ 114 LSA

I am a novice tuner and am fighting with the idle surge and die. When it surges mostly at parking lot manuvers and staging. I just dont know what to do to correct it. I has done it more so now that it is getting cold. The list of mods is: 6.2L LS3 w/ 24x reluctor, Comp Cam 224/230 dur. .581 in. / 591 ex. @ 114 LSA. Factory 90 mm throdle body fly-by-wire. K & N cold air intake. Factory MAF 03 silverado SS. NGK TR-6's . 3200 stall converter. I got my idle low but even with it up at 800 it still does it. Any Ideas?
    Attachment 15438

Attachment 15439

6.2L L92 (525 HP) ARP Bolts, Comp Cam 224/230 cam and push rods, Patriot Gold Springs, E-Fans, 175 HP shot NOS, Percision 3200 mult-disc, and RPM Transmissions Lv 5.
    Best E.T. So Far:
    1.734 60 FT. Spinning off the line!!!
    11.72 @ 116.09

Advanced Tuner
    try doing a RAF test "running air flow" at cold in park then the next morning in Drive. May take several times to get it right, after each time drive it for atleast 50 miles and let sit for 12 hours. Good luck.

If you are confident that your RAF is good then the most common cause of surging with cammed cars is over fueling. Sometimes you will need to have a 'measured' lean idle to have an actual AFR that you need. I know that sounds confusing but my point is that just because your narrow bands or even most widebands are telling you that it is at or near stoich doesn't mean it that is really happening at combustion. Sometimes you just need find the 'happy' AFR to get at or near happy combustion. For your cam try leaning your fueling out using the scanner to see if that improves things. I have found that a measured 15.5 - 16.0 is often closer to the real stoich on cams with that profile, but having said that each are different but I am fairly confident that due to the cam being less efficient at idle that you are over fueling somewhat.