Thread: Experiment: LSJ using E67

Tuner in Training

Experiment: LSJ using E67

I have a supercharged Cobalt and a 2.4l HHR. I recently discovered that the E67 controller in my HHR has supercharger controls (under Torque Management in the Engine group). Upon further research I found that the E67 is used to control some supercharged applications, most notably the supercharged 4.4L Northstar V-8 with VVT!

So I then compared the pins on the ECM connectors between the 2.4L HHR and Cobalt to the Cadillac STS with the LC3 supercharged Northstar and found enough commonalities to guess at a good connector configuration that could be used with the LSJ. Based on past experience with "creative rewiring", I have a high degree of confidence this would work.

The E67 has several tantalizing advantages over the P12, I think. First, it is a fully modern controller that is faster, and it fully uses GMLAN rather than Class 2 (like the P12). It offers two tables for MAF calibration, allowing higher frequencies to be read than the P12 and better resolution for lower frequencies. The fuel cutoff (if you've ever revved a 2.4L) is far more gentl than the P12's. The E67 has the Cylinder Charge Temperature adjustment features, which can help better approximate the charge air temperature inside the cylinders. The more sophisticated VE and speed density systems can greatly enhance airflow estimation (though tuning it can be a pain).