Thread: At WOT, my truck "slides" into 2nd, but firm into 3rd?

Advanced Tuner

Question At WOT, my truck "slides" into 2nd, but firm into 3rd?

2002 Silverado, 5.3 liter, 4L60E, 373 gears

At light to medium throttle, the truck upshifts nice into any gear when accelerating, but at WOT it sort of slides into 2nd gear (if that makes sense), yet 2nd to 3rd gear shifts at WOT are nice and firm.

It's been like this since I very first started tuning on it, 6 months or better, and hasn't gotten any worse, or any different either.

Anyone have any ideas what could cause this, or what I could do to help it?

I attached the current (trial maf only) tune, but don't have any WOT datalogs loaded to attach. The previous logs "look" OK, but I'm far from an expert at datalog interpretation.

If there is something I should, or could, log to show a potential problem, I'm all ears as I'm not 100% sure what would make the issue even show up in a log.
    Last edited by rel3rd; 01-17-2010 at 10:07 PM.
    2000 Trans AM WS6 6.0, 4L80e, 9"
    2008 Silverado LT 5.3 liter Work Beater

Advanced Tuner
    Quote Originally Posted by dogn View Post
    miles on it?
    Maybe 30K since stock rebuild was done, and fluid and filter is changed once a year as preventative maintenance. Fluid always looks great, nice and pinkish red, and no foul, or burnt smell ever.

It seemed to always shift firmer, at least on the 1>2 shift, before I ever messed with the tune as far as Torque management, upshift/downshift speeds, and stuff like that.

The weird thing, it shifts right at my commanded 5900 rpm's every time, just isn't firm like I'd expect it to be. Now 2>3 shifts are firm and also at the commanded 5700 rpm's, every time.
    Last edited by rel3rd; 12-01-2009 at 09:28 PM.

Advanced Tuner
    does it have a shift kit, or mods done?
    manual shifting or d4
    No mods whatsoever. It was stock rebuild and I leave the shifter in D or OD, never manually shift it.

Advanced Tuner