Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Autocross STX tune?

Tuner in Training

Autocross STX tune?

the disclaimer > HPT noob here very limited FI tuning knowledge other than some SAFC stuff.

So, I'm building my 09 cobalt ss for STX class in autocross. This allows tuning to the ECU. But, not to alter the boost. With the allowed mods I can do an intake and full exhaust. I guess I can adjust,rev limiter, ignition timing, cam timing to help spool a little quicker. As I understand it the way you guys get around the "learn down" is my adjusting the desired airload, and adjusting the desired airload would increase boost.

"Boost changes indirectly resulting from
    allowed modifications are permissible, but directly altering or
    modifying the boost or turbo controls, either mechanically or
    electronically, is strictly prohibited."

So, there's my delema. Is it worth tuning at all without increasing boost? Ideas? comments?
    Last edited by jboogie67; 12-11-2009 at 10:16 PM.

Advanced Tuner
    Leave the dals, do they mean stock 16psi boost or just what ever is limited, say 13psi down low? You could add timing, cam timing, torque limiters, air to fuel. Alot of things can be changed other than boost itself.

Tuner in Training
    but isn't the way the learn down works is by the stock tune commanding a certain desired air load? so would any gains from timing and other areas be pointless cause the computer would reduce boost to compensate?

Advanced Tuner
    Quote Originally Posted by jboogie67 View Post
    but isn't the way the learn down works is by the stock tune commanding a certain desired air load? so would any gains from timing and other areas be pointless cause the computer would reduce boost to compensate?
    Yes. It will still make more power than stock by changing the PE lambda and timing. Should make 20 whp more than stock easily on the same boost level.

Tuner in Training
    hey, thanks term time to add HPT to the list of things to buy before spring.