Thread: Turbo 2200 1 BAR and 2 BAR MAP Sensor Problems

Turbo 2200 1 BAR and 2 BAR MAP Sensor Problems

I just got my ‘00 turbo 2200 build done and I’m starting to tune it. I’m a complete newbie to HPTuners, so please excuse my ignorance with some of the technical terms. I’m running into some problems with the 2 bar map sensor. The car is running extreamly rich. I got the LD9 supercharged reflash from a reputable source, and he edited it to run on 650cc injectors. The problem is that the map is reading way off. Key on, engine off, it reads 195kPa. At idle (870-920 RPM), it reads 106-112kPa. My knowledge is that kPa reading is off by about 1 bar, key on engine off should be around 100kPa, and at idle it should be around 30-40 kPa. Correct??? I was told to check my wiring and the harness, which hasn’t been messed with. So I reflashed the original stock tune, and installed the OEM 1 bar map sensor. With key off, black/white wire is a good ground, tan wire is 4.98V, and green wire (signal) has a slight ground. With key on, engine off black/white wire is a good ground, tan wire is 4.98V and green wire (signal) produced 4.75V which is correct, 14.7 psi (atmospheric pressure or 1 bar) My current elevation is 619ft. above sea level. I thought that the signal wire having a slight ground was weird. So I tested resistance between the sensor harness and PCM harness, got 0 ohms. Tested for polarity, got neither + or -. Tested corresponding pin on PCM and found the slight ground. I’m assuming that is normal??? I made a configuration to show MAP kPa, MAP PSI, and MAP inHg. (so I can see corresponding values, I’m new to the conversions) I’m going to log the OEM tune with the OEM sensor, key on and key off. Also going to log OEM tune with 2 bar sensor, LD9 tune with OEM sensor, and LD9 tune with 2 bar sensor. With the 1 bar, 0-5v, is 0-100 kPa, which is idle to wide open throttle (30 kPa-100 kPa) correct? With the 2 bar, 0-5v is 0-200 kPa, which is idle to +14.7 psi (30 kPa - 200kPa