Thread: rich cruising and idle

Tuner in Training

rich cruising and idle

Hi guys, Im kind of new to the tuning world so bare with me. I got a 99 gs. 130k miles. All stock but a cold air intake, 3in down pipe no cat or res.. Tuning with hp beta. Im all done tuning ltft's. all are with in 0-5. the car has never got the best mpg. i now have a wide band hooked up for wot tuning. Idle closed loop its about 12.5 and the same cruising... I have tried recalibrating and two different sensors. all settings are right. I put it on another car and it ran 14.5-14.7 the hole time. I am now thinking it is the car... Y would it be so off..?? wot it is about 10-10.5...
    I got a short log at idle and my latest tune. any help would be great!!!

Tuner in Training
    No one???????

Advanced Tuner
    Do you have Gary's tuning guide?
    He was a "Jedi master" with these 3.8's.
    If not PM me.
    Or stop over to RegalGS.org. A copy of his guide is in the How to section.
    The Regal has been laid to rest..... rust
    Now have an 06 Lucerne with the 3.8 and wishing HPT would cover that car
    Loved my 2001 Buick Regal GS.
    With more than 334,000K, 3.4 & 3.6 pulley, Change stats and pulleys with the seasons, Upgraded grounds & power wire, Volt booster, Caspers timing commander(AKA happy knob), Spectra intake-fender wall, PLog, 3" DP & 2.5 exhaust, HPTunner 12" Impala duel piston front brakes, New trans,GMPP suspension... yada, yada...

Advanced Tuner
    You need to set up a MAF histo.
    that will help you clean up your tune.
    These cars like to use the MAF first. then refer to the VE... I'll say for "checks & balance".
    If the MAF fails, the VE takes over.
    The Regal has been laid to rest..... rust
    Now have an 06 Lucerne with the 3.8 and wishing HPT would cover that car
    Loved my 2001 Buick Regal GS.