Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: gm 3800 tuning help

Tuner in Training

gm 3800 tuning help

I'm new to tuning but not to cars I have spent a lot of time doing research on what to tune why to tune it and how it will help ur performance.

Well I have already changed the main things u read about speedo fans abuse tables I was just wondering if anyone has some input on where to go next as in a ve tune or skip that and go to maf tuning? And after maf tuning u adjust the timing tables?

At work now I will be posting my scans later today as a base line so maybe when there up somebody could give me a crash course on tuning

Do you have a wideband? Thats gonna be the deciding factor for "Whats Next"

Without a wideband you pretty much in the dark as far as anything fuel and air goes.

Advanced Tuner
    What Kind of car does your 3.8 move?
    PM me and I can email you a How to made just for our 3.8

Yes a Wideband is the best for tuning with WOT but, for the everyday drive, it's not totally necessary.
    The Regal has been laid to rest..... rust
    Now have an 06 Lucerne with the 3.8 and wishing HPT would cover that car
    Loved my 2001 Buick Regal GS.
    With more than 334,000K, 3.4 & 3.6 pulley, Change stats and pulleys with the seasons, Upgraded grounds & power wire, Volt booster, Caspers timing commander(AKA happy knob), Spectra intake-fender wall, PLog, 3" DP & 2.5 exhaust, HPTunner 12" Impala duel piston front brakes, New trans,GMPP suspension... yada, yada...

Care to PM me this 3800 Guide as well. I'm looking to buy a tuner with my Christmas Money for my 99 Pontiac Grand Prix GTP and I do already have a wideband installed.

Tuner in Training
    What are the mods on the car? Supercharged or N/A?
    2002 GTP 11.90@114 - A few mods
    2003 Silverado 2500HD 8.1L, Allison 5 spd - 285's, K&N intake (the toy hauler)

Tuner in Training