Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: 98 gtp 3.4 pulley with supporting mods 2.9 KR @ WOT

Tuner in Training

98 gtp 3.4 pulley with supporting mods 2.9 KR @ WOT

Background of Vehicle
    I have a 98 GTP 195,000 miles, my current mods are 3.4 pulley w/ gator back belt, headers (wrapped), 3'' down pipe, 3'' pipes to dual dynamax mufflers, al104 plugs gaped @.060 , 160 tstat, FWI-CAI, P&P TB, P&P LIM, P&P Eaton M90 SC, intense standard 1.0 pcm. Running 93 Octane

I just purchased the HP Tuners MPVI Standard and did a scan on the car and i am getting some knock at wot runs. Im just starting to learn the tuning aspect of these cars, and reading all the different threads. So far i have only adjusted idle and shift points, too scared to adjust the other stuff untill i have studied this stuff more. All this stuff seems overwhelming, i'm looking for a place to start to squeeze a little more power out of the car. Any help / advice is appreciated

Is this a good area to start? http://www.grandprixforums.net/start...ers-43997.html

Attachment 35179
    Attachment 35180
    Last edited by 850Morrison; 07-14-2012 at 10:42 PM.

Advanced Tuner
    Welcome.
    I have a tune guide Just for our 3.8's.
    PM me & I'll sent it to you via E-mail.
    Or, Go to RegalGS.org. in their DIY section is the same tune guide.

Either way.

I haven't looked at your scans (yet) I will say, get your scanner configurations in order.
    The Regal has been laid to rest..... rust
    Now have an 06 Lucerne with the 3.8 and wishing HPT would cover that car
    Loved my 2001 Buick Regal GS.
    With more than 334,000K, 3.4 & 3.6 pulley, Change stats and pulleys with the seasons, Upgraded grounds & power wire, Volt booster, Caspers timing commander(AKA happy knob), Spectra intake-fender wall, PLog, 3" DP & 2.5 exhaust, HPTunner 12" Impala duel piston front brakes, New trans,GMPP suspension... yada, yada...

Advanced Tuner
    You need a scan congfig for you MAF. Before you can dial in your car.