Thread: LS3 strange rev limiter

Potential Tuner

LS3 strange rev limiter

HI guys.
    I have problem with rev limiter in my LS3 engine. This engine is used in drift and rev limiter is important for me. Now rev limiter looks like you lift of the throttle for about 1-2 seconds and then you are back on throttle again. This is first LS3 engine i'm using. Before I was using BMW engines and rev limiter was a lot faster there. It was cut and resume few times for a second. I'm a driver not a mechanic or tuner, so maybe someone could look on tune of my engine and give some advice how to get rev limiter that im looking for.
    Best Regards from Poland

look in the Fuel --> Cut-Off tab. Left side column has all the rev limiters, find the one that matches your issue.

Tuner
    Just a WAG, but look under Fuel --> Cutoff, DFCO --> and check switchover delay under Control Method. The way it sounds is that after 5 seconds you'll switch from spark to ETC cut. Maybe ETC cut can't cycle fast like you're looking for? Maybe set this higher and see if just spark cut by itself does it?

Potential Tuner
    Thanks for replies.

I tried to change Cutoff method, switchover delay but problem is still the same.

Is there some other options that can set rev limiter than Engine -> Fuel -> cutoff ?

I tried to change options on this cutoff page but i seems like it doesnt change much. Or I'm doing something wrong.

I would max out the extreme cuts. Right now you have spark cut enabled but the extreme cut is likely also adding fuel cut. I would think spark cut only will be more like what you want.

Weird question, you're not the Canadian guy I saw on Horsepower TV this morning drifting his bimmer with an LS swap are you?
    Bill Winters

Former owner/builder/tuner of the FarmVette
    Out of the LSx tuning game

Potential Tuner
    I didnt try to set extreme cutoff higher then normal cutoff.