Thread: Can i set cam retard?

Potential Tuner

Can i set cam retard?

Im pretty new to tuning and have been reading a searching for awhile now. I have a 2000 blazer and had to replace the distributor, from what i understand i need to reset my cam retard. Ive read you can do it with hptuners but no one really says how, can any body explain how to set it? i have the 2.24 version.

Thanks in advance

I'm proudly a successfull stalker of an honor roll student!
    I've never heard of that one before. You should just have to move your flexplate & distributor until the marks line up, and then drop it in. There's nothing inside there that would loose memory or need to be reprogramed, or synchronized with your engine/PCM. If you lined up your marks correctly (assuming it only needed a distributor), the engine should fire right up.

Potential Tuner
    Well I bought it not running and come to find out that the guy I got it from replaced the distributor with a cheap parts store one and was pretty out of time. I replaced it with a gm distributor, rotor, cap and wires. The distributor itself is in time but runs rough below 1200 rpm. After searching some forums I saw that some people had to go in with a tech 2 and set the cam retard back to 0*.

Advanced Tuner
    there is a pid you can use its was called cam offset and get that as close to 0 as possible. you may have to hit the throttle every time you make a change to see the new value
    My setup is a 356ci with a 260/268 (212/218 at .050 lift) duration cam with aluminium corvette heads and flat top pistons running 11.3 comp. ratio. with tuned port injection and vortec crank pick up and dizzy running a 411 pcm and 60lb bosch injectors, 1.6 ratio roller rockers. For transmission its a 4l65e built with the monster in a box mega ss kit. All in a 92 chevy ext cab 4x4 pickup with a 98 cab now installed with a third door! running only e85

Advanced Tuner