Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast
Results 21 to 40 of 81

Thread: Dodge Viper Gen3 (JTEC/JTEC+) and Gen4 (Venom) tuning

  1. #21
    HP Tuners Owner Keith@HPTuners's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Posts
    6,907
    The factory tool MIGHT be able to program it back with a stock OS. We haven't tested that.

    The other solution would be if we were to distribute the stock OS as well, but we have no plans to do that. Our OS is far superior for tuning.
    We got this guy Not Sure, ...

  2. #22
    Potential Tuner
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    3
    so can the gen 2 guys use the Beta yet?

  3. #23
    Potential Tuner
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Posts
    1
    Bill, I'm in clermont, FL and I have a gen 3 car let me know what I can do to help

  4. #24
    Señor Tuner MeentSS02's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Dayton, OH
    Posts
    1,115
    Any word on the throttle relearn, or is a dealership still the only option?

  5. #25
    Tuner in Training
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    23
    With the ultra solus scanner, I think with the learning can be.

  6. #26
    Tuner Ls3sierra406's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    51
    I have an 08 viper that wants tune can I read that and submmit in?

  7. #27
    Señor Tuner MeentSS02's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Dayton, OH
    Posts
    1,115
    Quote Originally Posted by Ls3sierra406 View Post
    I have an 08 viper that wants tune can I read that and submmit in?
    You won't be able to read anything out. If they want the tune, they need to purchase an interface (if they don't already have one) and make sure there are 20 Dodge credits on it. When you go to read it out the first time, it'll give you a warning and then auto generate a file for you with pre-populated values. That serves as the base tune that you will write the first time.

    Details here: http://driveviper.com/forums/threads...s-Info-(Gen-4)

  8. #28
    Tuner Ls3sierra406's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    51
    Thanks for info

  9. #29
    Tuner in Training
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Posts
    24
    You need to find a way for the throttle relearn procedure...
    Got a few vipers to tune but no way to find a dealership with the correct tools here in france

  10. #30
    Tuner Ls3sierra406's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    51
    I have only one Viper customer here in south Texas so far that wants tuning but yes I have to look into that relearn procedure...

  11. #31
    Potential Tuner
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Orlando, FL
    Posts
    6
    We have several I's, II's, III's, IV's and V's.

    Have you thought about offering tuning for the SBEC II in the Gen I? Loads of Gen I's could really benefit from a tune.
    Larry Macedo
    Macedo Motorsports, LLC
    www.macedomotorsports.com
    407.970.3463

  12. #32
    I just added another 40 or so params to the Venom included are:
    - various airflow diagnostic tests (MAF, MAP, Baro, air leak etc.)
    - idle speed tests P0506/507
    - startup spark perf P050B
    - cooling system perf P0128
    - Variable Cam Angle, enable RPM and diagnostics
    - Misfire tables and other misfire related things
    - O2 sensor diag
    - AC disable pedal thresholds
    - skip shift solenoid diag
    - reverse lockout solenoid control

    If you are having trouble with any other DTC's or codes please let me know.

    Chris...
    I count sheep in hex...

  13. #33
    Señor Tuner MeentSS02's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Dayton, OH
    Posts
    1,115
    Quote Originally Posted by Chris@HPTuners View Post
    I just added another 40 or so params to the Venom included are:
    - various airflow diagnostic tests (MAF, MAP, Baro, air leak etc.)
    - idle speed tests P0506/507
    - startup spark perf P050B
    - cooling system perf P0128
    - Variable Cam Angle, enable RPM and diagnostics
    - Misfire tables and other misfire related things
    - O2 sensor diag
    - AC disable pedal thresholds
    - skip shift solenoid diag
    - reverse lockout solenoid control

    If you are having trouble with any other DTC's or codes please let me know.

    Chris...
    Chris,

    I tried disabling the airflow diagnostics so I could bump up values in the pedal percent torque request table, but it's still going into limp mode. There was a P061A code left behind even after a reflash - any thoughts/ideas on this one? Seems to be some sort of internal check beyond the airflow diagnostics that is sensitive to asking the throttle bodies to open more quickly than stock...
    2008 Viper - now with HPToona
    Now about that burrito warmer...

  14. #34
    Quote Originally Posted by MeentSS02 View Post
    Chris,

    I tried disabling the airflow diagnostics so I could bump up values in the pedal percent torque request table, but it's still going into limp mode. There was a P061A code left behind even after a reflash - any thoughts/ideas on this one? Seems to be some sort of internal check beyond the airflow diagnostics that is sensitive to asking the throttle bodies to open more quickly than stock...
    yes we are working on this one, unfortunately its in a protected section that we are trying to find a workaround for. The issue is the driver demand torque and the calculated actual torque must be within about 120Nm of each other or this code will occur and REP mode. If you can tweak the tables so the torques stay close to each other that would work. We know exactly what the issue is (we support these tables for NGC and GPEC controllers) so hopefully the answer will come soon.
    I count sheep in hex...

  15. #35
    Señor Tuner MeentSS02's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Dayton, OH
    Posts
    1,115
    Quote Originally Posted by Chris@HPTuners View Post
    yes we are working on this one, unfortunately its in a protected section that we are trying to find a workaround for. The issue is the driver demand torque and the calculated actual torque must be within about 120Nm of each other or this code will occur and REP mode. If you can tweak the tables so the torques stay close to each other that would work. We know exactly what the issue is (we support these tables for NGC and GPEC controllers) so hopefully the answer will come soon.
    Hmmmmm...this is making my head hurt. For the Viper, which tables are these? Is the driver demand torque the Pedal Percent Torque Request?



    And the same for calculated actual torque - the only one I found even remotely close is this one:



    But I don't think that's the right one to be messing with.
    2008 Viper - now with HPToona
    Now about that burrito warmer...

  16. #36
    I'm not sure there is a solution until we find a way to modify the protected torque delta threshold and the calculated torque tables. You might be able to tweak the desired airmass higher to open the throttle more, but leave the pedal table stock. I'm not sure it will work though.
    I count sheep in hex...

  17. #37
    Señor Tuner MeentSS02's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Dayton, OH
    Posts
    1,115
    Good to know...thanks!
    2008 Viper - now with HPToona
    Now about that burrito warmer...

  18. #38
    Señor Tuner MeentSS02's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Dayton, OH
    Posts
    1,115
    Chris,

    I also forgot to thank you for your time and effort on this little endeavor...I know the Viper isn't a huge priority, so I appreciate the time you guys have put into this. I was hoping you'd learn some lessons from the other Mopar work you've done, and it sounds like you've done just that. We at least know what the problem is, so hopefully you can figure out a work-around for it.

    Please let me know if there's anything I can do to help...I'd be more than happy to test something out if needed. I've found more than a few ways to get this car to go into limp mode over throttle response adjustments...
    2008 Viper - now with HPToona
    Now about that burrito warmer...

  19. #39
    yeah the problem is the viper software is unique, the way the throttle is controlled and other things are all different. The code itself is a completely different and was either outsourced or done by a completely different team with their own code base.
    I count sheep in hex...

  20. #40
    Senior Tuner SultanHassanMasTuning's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
    Posts
    2,098
    Team,

    can we add part throttle timing
    E-tuning/remote Tuning Sultan@mastuning.net Follow @MASTUNING Contact/Whatsapp +966555366161
    [URL="http://www.mastuningsaudi.com"]