Page 1 of 6 12345 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 110

Thread: Dodge Viper Gen4 & Gen5 (Venom) available in 3.0+

  1. #1
    HP Tuners Owner Keith@HPTuners's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Posts
    6,908

    Dodge Viper Gen4 & Gen5 (Venom) available in 3.0+

    Ok, We've released the Gen4 & Gen5 Venom tuning.

    Currently I'm only posting the information here because there is a caveat. Be sure to read this whole post before you decide to try and tune your Gen4 or Gen5 Viper.

    1) The stock calibration cannot be read out.
    - Because of this, we provide you with our modified operating system that includes some scanning enhancements.
    - This also adds read capability to the Gen4 calibration (Not available in Gen5).

    2) When you read your PCM for the first time, when you write back to your PCM, you WILL LOSE any tune/changes that may exist on your PCM. You will be starting from scratch with our custom operating system.
    - If you have an aftermarket PCM, you're better off selling that and buying a stocker and starting from scratch.
    - This does not apply if you're tuning a Gen4 that already has our custom OS in it: (05029932H0, ends in H0)

    3) ** VERY IMPORTANT ** After you write your PCM for the first time, you MUST perform a throttle relearn. I have not had the time to implement this in VCM Scanner yet. Currently, you MUST use the factory tool to perform this function. Without it, your vehicle will not work.


    When I have added the throttle relearn functionality to the software I will update this thread. Until then, unless you have the factory tools you should not be trying to tune your car.

    ** NOTES **
    1) Anyone can read their Gen4 & Gen5 Viper to browse the tuning capabilities without worrying about having to use the factory tool to perform a throttle relearn. The throttle relearn is only needed on the first write.

    Enjoy.
    Last edited by Bill@HPTuners; 10-17-2018 at 09:22 AM.
    We got this guy Not Sure, ...

  2. #2
    Señor Tuner MeentSS02's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Dayton, OH
    Posts
    1,117
    Can't wait to see how this works out...they certainly didn't make it easy, did they?

  3. #3
    Advanced Tuner
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Paris, France
    Posts
    438
    This Is Christmas everyday!!!!
    Big thanks
    http://www.lsxcalibration.com - Lsx Tuning France - Spécialisé Reprogrammation moteur Corvette Camaro Hummer, Ford Mustang et autres véhicules US

    Check our Facebook page http://www.facebook.com/lsxcalibration.com

  4. #4
    Senior Tuner DSteck's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    St. Louis, MO
    Posts
    4,795
    I'm confused. If you can't read the stock calibration, how were people able to read anything from them? Are all the aftermarket tunes modified operating systems?

    I know people have been looking forward to this. I'll be interested to jump in!

    DSX Tuning - Authorized HP Tuners Dealer
    http://www.dsxtuning.com
    http://www.facebook.com/dsx.tuning
    Just say no to bull s***.
    IF YOU WANT HELP, POST A FILE!

  5. #5
    HP Tuners Owner Keith@HPTuners's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Posts
    6,908
    DSteck,

    When you use VCM Editor to read your Gen4 Viper, the software will automatically generate a file for you. It even prompts you letting you know the file you've "read" is auto generated and not actual data from your vehicle.

    There really aren't any aftermarket tunes for the Gen4. There's 1 aftermarket controller and that's about it.
    We got this guy Not Sure, ...

  6. #6
    Senior Tuner DSteck's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    St. Louis, MO
    Posts
    4,795
    Quote Originally Posted by Keith@HPTuners View Post
    DSteck,

    When you use VCM Editor to read your Gen4 Viper, the software will automatically generate a file for you. It even prompts you letting you know the file you've "read" is auto generated and not actual data from your vehicle.

    There really aren't any aftermarket tunes for the Gen4. There's 1 aftermarket controller and that's about it.
    Ah, that's much clearer. Is the generated file sufficient to run the engine without any changes (assuming it's a stock vehicle)?

    DSX Tuning - Authorized HP Tuners Dealer
    http://www.dsxtuning.com
    http://www.facebook.com/dsx.tuning
    Just say no to bull s***.
    IF YOU WANT HELP, POST A FILE!

  7. #7
    HP Tuners Owner Keith@HPTuners's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Posts
    6,908
    Yes. It's a stock calibration with our OS Enhancements.
    We got this guy Not Sure, ...

  8. #8
    Tuner in Training
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    10
    Wow this is really neat!

    I assume there is no going back to the stock tune since it can't be read, maybe I'll look for a spare PCM so I can keep the stock one in factory condition.
    I'll email you guys in a bit

  9. #9
    Tuner in Training
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Posts
    35
    X2 on the above question and any eta on the throttle relearn yet? Great work guys!

  10. #10
    HP Tuners Owner Keith@HPTuners's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Posts
    6,908
    At this point we will not be providing a stock tune.

    When you read your vehicle for the first time with our software though, the tune you're getting is for the most part stock. The calibration is stock. However, the operating system ID has been altered, along with diagnostics (scanning) enhancements added. The tune as it is will not run the car any differently than one without our enhancements.

    The Gen4 Venom is a tricky module, so we won't be able to offer the same functionality that end users appreciate with most of our other GM, Ford and Dodge offerings.

    No update on the throttle relearn yet. I was hoping to finish it at Watkins Glen when I had time with my Gen4, but was unable to.

    I have notified a few shops that have the dodge tool that can preform the relearn process though. They should be able to tune Gen4 vipers now for customers.
    We got this guy Not Sure, ...

  11. #11
    Tuner in Training
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Posts
    35
    Which shops are these?

  12. #12
    Tuner in Training
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    26
    Cant look at anything but DTC's and Fan settings. What am I missing. Does it really cost 20 credits to license a single Venom PCM? Ridiculous. Thanks
    Attached Files Attached Files

  13. #13
    HP Tuners Owner Keith@HPTuners's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Posts
    6,908
    Make sure you're in the advanced view.

    If 20 credits is too much, don't license it. The amount of hours it took us in R&D to even develop the product..........
    We got this guy Not Sure, ...

  14. #14
    Senior Tuner
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    1,672
    Quote Originally Posted by scattergun9 View Post
    Cant look at anything but DTC's and Fan settings. What am I missing. Does it really cost 20 credits to license a single Venom PCM? Ridiculous. Thanks
    With what I see people paying to tune BMW's, Benzes...Lambo's...$1000 on credits for a platform that they had to put a lot of development time into for a very very small market seems reasonable. When you think about it...it's 10x more the cost than the typical GM/Ford vehicle...that said, they most likely won't see anywhere even close to 10% of the amount of Vipers to tune compared to GM stuff...software developers time is money too.
    Last edited by MikeOD; 06-04-2014 at 01:17 PM.
    2010 Camaro SS M6. Stock Bottom EndHeads/Cam/Intake/Headers/Exhaust.
    2005 Silverado RCSB. Forged 370 LQ9/Borg-Forced Inductions T6 S484/Jake's Stage 4 4L80E with D3 Brake/4WD.
    2018 Silverado RCSB. Stock 5.3 Z71.

  15. #15
    Tuner in Training
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Posts
    35
    Quote Originally Posted by Keith@HPTuners View Post
    Make sure you're in the advanced view.

    If 20 credits is too much, don't license it. The amount of hours it took us in R&D to even develop the product..........
    Keith please take his comment with a grain of salt just over $1200 to tune these cars is a steal and I can't believe anyone would argue that.

  16. #16
    Tuner in Training
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    26
    Yes please take my 20 credit comment with a grain of salt,not trying to offend anyone. Just took me by surprise when you're use to paying $100 for the gm and ford platforms. Ive had a few viper owners inquire about tuning and when we tell them they need to buy SCT proracer software and a handheld for $700 and then pay for the tuning, we never hear from them again. I live in a very frugal/stingy area it seems like. The people around here always complain that even $300-500 for a tune is too much, yet the same people will spend thousands on parts even though the calibration is the most important part of making all the parts work. Im not sure if they think custom calibration dosent take any skill, or that dynamometers are inexpensive and cost nothing to operate. I really cant figure out the psychi. Anyhow, heres a noob question. How do you change the user level of the software? I cant find it anywhere,where do I look? I haven't had to change it in 6 years. I only remember seeing it only on a fresh install on a computer that has never had HPT on it.

  17. #17
    Tuner in Training
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    26
    With what I see people paying to tune BMW's, Benzes...Lambo's...$1000 on credits for a platform that they had to put a lot of development time into for a very very small market seems reasonable. When you think about it...it's 10x more the cost than the typical GM/Ford vehicle...that said, they most likely won't see anywhere even close to 10% of the amount of Vipers to tune compared to GM stuff...software developers time is money too.
    This I understand totally. Hopefully this guy's car I posted the tune from will agree to foot the bill. He is a big wig at Harley Davidson here in Milwaukee. If he declines, though it will prove my point about living in a stingy area.

  18. #18
    Tuner in Training
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    26
    I loaded the latest Beta and can now view everything.

  19. #19
    Tuner in Training
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    26
    Found the user level under the edit tab, then view. Only place I didn't look Doh.

  20. #20
    Tuner in Training
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    26
    Keith and the HPT team please keep up the great work. I enjoy using the tuning platform and the scanner. The user interface is the best in my opinion.