Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast
Results 21 to 40 of 95

Thread: How to perform a segment swap using the segment swapper utility

  1. #21
    This will also work on a HPT custom OS as long as the "from" segment file matches the original OS. Just did it.
    Bo Woody owner:
    APS Automotive
    www.apstuning.com
    Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
    405-424-RACE

  2. #22
    Senior Tuner
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    on the Dyno
    Posts
    1,727
    Quote Originally Posted by caesar View Post
    That is done for a reason. You can only swap a segment from the same OS, otherwise you will either brick your PCM in most cases or cause the OS to read incorrect values.
    I know this I was just commenting to make it known that is the reason...
    James Short - James@ShorTuning.com
    Located in Central Kentucky
    ShorTuning


  3. #23
    Tuner in Training
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    42
    I'm trying to swap a 6.0l 4l80e to a 6.0l 4L60E, Same OS same year, using a 5.3l 4L60 program for the trans segment. When I look at the DTC's they don't transfer over even when I select the trans segment and the DTC and copy them over in the segment swap tool. The shift sol. the trans fluid, and the TCC, and other codes don't have the check box marked and it says No MIL Light? Am I doing something wrong or will everything work?
    Last edited by triple4x4; 01-28-2015 at 01:02 PM.

  4. #24
    Tuner in Training
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Richmond, VA
    Posts
    32
    I tried playing with this segment swapper tonight with a couple files. I can perform the segment swap, but when I go to close the segment swap window the vcm editor software crashes. Any ideas?
    SHUETUNING
    Powertraincontrolsolutions

  5. #25
    Tuner in Training
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Richmond, VA
    Posts
    32
    Nevermind. It had to be a licensed file.

  6. #26
    Potential Tuner
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Location
    Spring Hill, Florida
    Posts
    5
    thanks for sharing!
    2001 RCSB Silverado 2wd, 5.3/4L60e, 3:73, all stock besides cold air intake and true dual exhaust w/ cats

    ~LQ4/4L80e swap in progress~

  7. #27
    Potential Tuner
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Posts
    4
    Will I need to get hold of an ECU to copy from or are there files I can download?
    Will a 4L80E segment work for the 4L85e?

  8. #28
    Tuner in Training
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    20
    Ive never done a segment swap before and would appreciate any help, where do I go to get a file to segment swap from? I am converting an 03 Silverado from a 4L60 to a 4L80. 12579405 OS
    Full Throttle Kustomz llc
    "For Those Who Live Life at REDLINE"

  9. #29
    Tuner in Training
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    20
    Found one
    Full Throttle Kustomz llc
    "For Those Who Live Life at REDLINE"

  10. #30
    Tuner in Training
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Posts
    44
    Question, how long does it take to hear back from HPT when you email them requesting 2.25 beta?
    77 C10 - 416 6L90e Swap

  11. #31
    Tuner in Training
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Posts
    16
    I just downloaded the 2.25BETA and cant find the the segment swapper!!??

  12. #32
    Tuner in Training
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Posts
    16
    Found it, Does it only light up as clickable when you are able to swap? And do you need a license on the compare file?

  13. #33
    Tuner in Training
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Posts
    43
    opened over 100 files from the tune repository looking for a matching OS. not having any luck at all. hope I didn't waste 2 credits on pcm that I cant use for a segment swap. need a 4l80e segment.

    my OS ID= 12606960

    would really appreciate the help I'm totally lost

  14. #34
    Tuner in Training
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Owasso, OK
    Posts
    34
    I have the same OS ID. 12606960, and can't find a 4L80 file with the same OS to do the segment swap from. Help!!
    2009 Pontiac G8 GT: 428 LSX, PRC LS3 heads w/ LS9 valvetrain, VCM, RCR ported IM and TB, BTR custom 241/256 cam, Manzo 2" Camaro LTs, full Zeta II suspension conversion w/ BC's, Brembos, Circle D 3200 stall, and 3.27s.
    2012 JKU Rubicon: Metalcloak Gamechanger 3.5" lift, 35's, Banks CAI, TrailDash tuner (for now).

  15. #35
    Quote Originally Posted by hivoltagedriver View Post
    I have the same OS ID. 12606960, and can't find a 4L80 file with the same OS to do the segment swap from. Help!!
    What is the application?
    Bo Woody owner:
    APS Automotive
    www.apstuning.com
    Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
    405-424-RACE

  16. #36
    Quote Originally Posted by mecanicman View Post
    12606960 is a 2005 flexfuel o/s. There is no 4l80 segment that hpt can swap for you. Post up your STOCK file read out with 2.24 and I may be able to help.

    I will also help you if you host up your stock file. Or if you want to send me your PCM I can convert it for you but you will more than likely have to license it again depending on what I have to do to make it work.
    Bo Woody owner:
    APS Automotive
    www.apstuning.com
    Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
    405-424-RACE

  17. #37
    Advanced Tuner ultimate lsx tuning's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Perth Western Australia
    Posts
    383
    when doing a segment swap do you need to license the compare file to do the swap to the file that is receiving it or you don't need to Cheers Bret@ultimatelsxtuning
    Custom tuning for LS1/LS2/LS3/L76/L77/L98/ Alloytech V6. VT-VF Commodores. Custom Trans programming for 4L60/4L65E/6L80E , Hi Stall Tuning, VCM Parts avail also..Own tuned cars- VX SS commodore ls1, my own 'custom grind comp cam', Dart heads , fast 102/nw102, 60lb siemens, ls3 rails,150-250hp shot aimng for 10.20@135mph+ custom 4800rpm 9.5'' conv, 3.91, VZ Thunder Ute 6LTR L76 custom maf/trans tune twin 2.5''..VE SSV Pontiac G8 Version UTE L77 6L80E ....www.facebook.com/UltimatelsxTuning

  18. #38
    Advanced Tuner ultimate lsx tuning's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Perth Western Australia
    Posts
    383
    with the T42 Tcm , is it true you can't do a segment swap etc 4L80E Into E38 PCM...
    Custom tuning for LS1/LS2/LS3/L76/L77/L98/ Alloytech V6. VT-VF Commodores. Custom Trans programming for 4L60/4L65E/6L80E , Hi Stall Tuning, VCM Parts avail also..Own tuned cars- VX SS commodore ls1, my own 'custom grind comp cam', Dart heads , fast 102/nw102, 60lb siemens, ls3 rails,150-250hp shot aimng for 10.20@135mph+ custom 4800rpm 9.5'' conv, 3.91, VZ Thunder Ute 6LTR L76 custom maf/trans tune twin 2.5''..VE SSV Pontiac G8 Version UTE L77 6L80E ....www.facebook.com/UltimatelsxTuning

  19. #39
    Advanced Tuner Lakegoat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    743
    Quote Originally Posted by ultimate lsx tuning View Post
    with the T42 Tcm , is it true you can't do a segment swap etc 4L80E Into E38 PCM...
    That's what I have heard. I'm using the 4L60 tune to run the 80. You can do it with two relays or switch a couple of wires in the trans plug. I will look for the diagram and post it. PCM of NC sells the relay harness if you don't want to switch the wires.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by Lakegoat; 02-02-2016 at 09:20 AM.
    2005 GTO, TrickFlow 225, Magnuson 2300, 4L80, 4 link 8.8
    2013 Silverado 5.3, 6L80

  20. #40
    Senior Tuner
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    South Carolina
    Posts
    1,530
    Quote Originally Posted by ultimate lsx tuning View Post
    with the T42 Tcm , is it true you can't do a segment swap etc 4L80E Into E38 PCM...
    The TCM is not linked to the license of the VCM, so you can put in a new TCM and re-read the file, or TCM flash only (Write Entire) with the new OS.
    Jaime