Thread: A few questions for the experts!

Advanced Tuner

A few questions for the experts!

I've been looking more and more into the engine portion of my tune after spending a lot of time on the transmission side. I have a few questions that I'm hoping the experts can help with (go easy on my, I'm a noob!!!):

1. Power Enrichment. It's my understanding that bringing this on earlier is 'safer" than bringing it on later. But can bringing it on too soon be "dangerous"? What happens if you're giving the engine too much fuel due to PE?

2. Max Torque vs. Peak Torque. I can't seem to wrap my brain around these parameters. While you can specifically set the Peak Torque in my ECM (E39) and it's my understanding that it should NOT be mxed out, what about Max Torque? When logging, I noticed that my delivered Torque is somtimes higher than my Max Torque - how can that be? Is there any way to "tune" the max torque?

3. Fast Torque Exit - can anyone explain this one ot me? What effect does it have on drivability? Why would you want or not want Fast Torque Exit enabled?

Thank you in advance!

Tuner in Training
    I cant answer 2 and 3, but I have been bringing in PE earlier with good results, not having any issues with it so far, I have mine set to come in at 1800+ RPMs and 60% or more of throttle.
    2012 Camaro 2LS IOM
    Mods: -CAI cold air intake -MRT V2 exhaust
    -Custom tune done by Myself with HP Tuners
    -Oracle Fog light kit for 2LS -HID headlights
    -Heritage grille-Phastek flat black ZL1 replica rims on Nitto invos (285/30R20) -Eibach pro kit lowering springs
    -Stoptech Stainless Braided brake lines -Stoptech Slotted and Drilled rotors -Hawk HPS pads
    -VMAX ported TB -Magnaflow resonated x-pipe (with Cat and Resonator delete) -Elite Catch can
    -Quad tips/1LE Rear Diffuser

Can't answer question 2.