Page 1 of 10 12345 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 189

Thread: MPVI1 USB driver installation

  1. #1
    Senior Tuner
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Santa Clarita, Ca
    Posts
    1,412

    MPVI1 USB driver installation

    For those of you running XP who have machines that refuse to load the correct USB drivers here is what you can do:

    Plug the MPVI interface in, go to the control panel, device drivers, expand the USB section.

    1) If FTDI A,B are seen and not HP Tuners MPVI Channel A, B, right click on FTDI A and uninstall. Do the same for FTDI B.
    2) Unplug the MPVI.
    3) Unzip the USB driver files (if you downloaded them).
    4) Plug the MPVI back in.
    5) This time when Windows finds a new device, manually select the drivers in in the unzipped folder or CD.

    If Windows refuses to load the correct drivers, repeat step 1 but this time do not unplug the MPVI.. Right click on whatever drivers Windows installed for the MPVI and select "Update Driver". Now point Windows to the folder where the drivers are.

    When all is said and done, the USB device MUST report "HP Tuners MPVI Channel A" and "HP Tuners MPVI Channel B". If not the drivers have not loaded properly.

    Windows 7, 8 , 10 Vista & XP 64 bit operating systems driver install instructions for those with internet and windows automatic updates turned on
    1) Connect your interface
    2) Done. Windows does everything

    Windows 7, 8 , 10 Vista & XP 64 bit operating systems driver install instructions for those with internet but windows automatic updates turned off
    1)Connect your MPVI interface to your laptop
    2)At this point the driver install will likely fail(it did for me)
    3)Open the control panel and in the search window enter device drivers
    6)Under Device manager select the update device drivers one
    7)There will likely be two MPVI devices with an ! listed next to them in the 'other devices' section
    8)Right click on the first one, click update driver software
    9)A window will come up, tell it to browse the internet for the drivers
    10) it will now install properly
    11)repeat for the second one and you're done!

    Windows 7, 8 , 10 Vista & XP 64 bit operating systems driver install instructions for those without internet
    1)Download the drivers here http://www.hptuners.com/pub/HPT FTDI...08.28 WHQL.zip
    2)Unzip the drivers to your desktop
    3)Connect your MPVI interface to your laptop
    4)At this point the driver install will likely fail(it did for me)
    5)Open the control panel and in the search window enter device drivers
    6)Under Device manager select the update device drivers one
    7)There will likely be two MPVI devices with an ! listed next to them in the 'other devices' section
    8)Right click on the first one, click update driver software
    9)A window will come up, tell it to browse my computer for driver software-from there find your desktop
    10) it will now install properly
    11)repeat for the second one and you're done!

    Not hard just different from previous operating systems.

    Heres the demo if you aren't good at following words and like pictures http://files.hptuners.com/support/De...Win7Driver.swf
    Last edited by Bill@HPTuners; 11-03-2015 at 01:24 PM.

  2. #2
    Hi Ken
    Just changing to a new laptop with Vista and need to manually install the USB drivers
    I'm a bit confused by your comment in this post:
    "version 2.xx.xx are a newer set of drivers"
    The 2.xx.xx drivers are NEWER than the 3.xx.xx ?????
    Regards
    WopOnTour
    Last edited by WopOnTour; 09-15-2007 at 11:18 PM.

  3. #3
    HP Tuners Support
    (foff667)
    Bill@HPTuners's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Hailing from Parts Unknown
    Posts
    26,243
    Our old relyable drivers show up as version 3.xx.xx if you look at their properties.

    The new drivers which have some glitches from what I've seen have version 2.xx.xx, basically just the opposite of what you would think when going to a newer driver.
    It doesn't have to be perfect, it just needs to be done in two weeks...

    A wise man once said "google it"

  4. #4
    oic
    So use the older 3.0 drivers (receommended) unless you have problems then?
    Is it a chipset dependant thing or something? (gotta love USB standards lol)
    WOT

  5. #5
    HP Tuners Owner Keith@HPTuners's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Posts
    6,909
    New drivers posted for Vista support (2.02.04)

    If you try them, please report back with your results.
    We got this guy Not Sure, ...

  6. #6
    I got an error saying "there is no driver selected for the device information set or element"

    second attemt didnt do that and......... IT WORKED PERFECTLY!!! Thanks!!
    Last edited by LSXGOAT; 09-18-2007 at 02:06 PM.

  7. #7
    Advanced Tuner
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    320
    I downloaded and modified the newer Vista drivers from FTDI a while back. They have been working flawlessly since then.

  8. #8
    Advanced Tuner redhotjamedjimi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Philadelphia, PA
    Posts
    352
    I'm finally going to get another laptop after mine had severe power issues. I havent been on here for months. My problem is My new comp with be Vista x64 and have core 2 duo. Is that going to be a problem it seemed that file is for amd's 64 bit.
    2006 SS Cobalt SC
    Stage 2 ZZP Cams
    Headers, 3.0" Full ZZP Exhaust
    60lb inj. Intake.
    2.8 Pulley
    72# Lb. Supertech Springs
    LNF Ext Valves and lashers
    Cobre H/E, option B.
    Torque Damper
    HPTuned.
    Bitchin'
    .

  9. #9
    HP Tuners Support
    (foff667)
    Bill@HPTuners's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Hailing from Parts Unknown
    Posts
    26,243
    very possibly.
    It doesn't have to be perfect, it just needs to be done in two weeks...

    A wise man once said "google it"

  10. #10
    Advanced Tuner redhotjamedjimi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Philadelphia, PA
    Posts
    352
    i luv the enthusiasm ill let u all know how much vista ass i have to kick cause im not downgrading.
    2006 SS Cobalt SC
    Stage 2 ZZP Cams
    Headers, 3.0" Full ZZP Exhaust
    60lb inj. Intake.
    2.8 Pulley
    72# Lb. Supertech Springs
    LNF Ext Valves and lashers
    Cobre H/E, option B.
    Torque Damper
    HPTuned.
    Bitchin'
    .

  11. #11
    HP Tuners Support
    (foff667)
    Bill@HPTuners's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Hailing from Parts Unknown
    Posts
    26,243
    Yeah I've used vista & it worked ok with our software but I've also heard of some issues as well, x64 I would assume you might have even more issues but I'd love to hear the results as the price on those x64 laptops has really come down.
    It doesn't have to be perfect, it just needs to be done in two weeks...

    A wise man once said "google it"

  12. #12
    Advanced Tuner redhotjamedjimi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Philadelphia, PA
    Posts
    352
    those 2.2 version drivers for now have seemed to do the trick. This was after the F8 digitally signed drivers was disabled. everything so far for me has run 100 times better on vista than xp with no crashes. i dont get the big deal. maybe caus eim computer savvy?
    2006 SS Cobalt SC
    Stage 2 ZZP Cams
    Headers, 3.0" Full ZZP Exhaust
    60lb inj. Intake.
    2.8 Pulley
    72# Lb. Supertech Springs
    LNF Ext Valves and lashers
    Cobre H/E, option B.
    Torque Damper
    HPTuned.
    Bitchin'
    .

  13. #13
    HP Tuners Owner Keith@HPTuners's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Posts
    6,909
    FTDI 2.02.04 Drivers are now our current recommended driver.
    We got this guy Not Sure, ...

  14. #14
    Advanced Tuner redhotjamedjimi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Philadelphia, PA
    Posts
    352
    also you don't need to reinstall the drivers every time just do the f8 trick and they will work in your system.
    2006 SS Cobalt SC
    Stage 2 ZZP Cams
    Headers, 3.0" Full ZZP Exhaust
    60lb inj. Intake.
    2.8 Pulley
    72# Lb. Supertech Springs
    LNF Ext Valves and lashers
    Cobre H/E, option B.
    Torque Damper
    HPTuned.
    Bitchin'
    .

  15. #15

    channel B not working

    hi all,
    sudden problem with hardware.
    channel b will not start according to device manager. says code 10. searching windows gives me no help.
    winxp, sp2, good cable, power light is green, channel a is good.
    can't unistall either. i just click on it and it turns blue like it's going to do something, but doesn't. same for trying to uninstall ftdi drivers which are also in the programs listing.
    i uninstalled from device manager and plugged in but have same luck. that's basically where it runs through it all but says device can't start, code 10.
    there is also an ftdi uninstall program but it does nothing as well.
    i'm sure something is corrupted, but how to work around it????
    have car ready to tune, but suddenly can't connect.
    doesn't help i can't find my original cd either, but link in this post had drivers.
    please help.
    thanks

  16. #16
    Advanced Tuner redhotjamedjimi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Philadelphia, PA
    Posts
    352
    you cant either rollback driver in the device manager or tell the computer where the latest version of hptuners is.
    2006 SS Cobalt SC
    Stage 2 ZZP Cams
    Headers, 3.0" Full ZZP Exhaust
    60lb inj. Intake.
    2.8 Pulley
    72# Lb. Supertech Springs
    LNF Ext Valves and lashers
    Cobre H/E, option B.
    Torque Damper
    HPTuned.
    Bitchin'
    .

  17. #17
    HP Tuners Support
    (foff667)
    Bill@HPTuners's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Hailing from Parts Unknown
    Posts
    26,243
    Quote Originally Posted by redhotjamedjimi
    you cant either rollback driver in the device manager or tell the computer where the latest version of hptuners is.
    Yup, you should be able to use the restore feature on your pc to bring it back a few days ago when it was working properly.
    It doesn't have to be perfect, it just needs to be done in two weeks...

    A wise man once said "google it"

  18. #18
    yep, that would be nice.
    i set a restore point before i stated fooling with it, but that is the only point this month and i can't get it to go back to january. obviously my laptop is a happy camper.

  19. #19
    HP Tuners Support
    (foff667)
    Bill@HPTuners's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Hailing from Parts Unknown
    Posts
    26,243
    Mine has a restore point every day for the last 2 or 3 weeks, I've run into issues while testing beta drivers & have always simply restored to the previous day
    It doesn't have to be perfect, it just needs to be done in two weeks...

    A wise man once said "google it"

  20. #20
    not fibbing.
    any other ideas? have GOT to get this going.