Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 29

Thread: Gear/Tire Adjustment - 3.0+ Scanner

  1. #1
    HPT Employee Mark@HPTuners's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    36.1094, 115.1781
    Posts
    427

    Thumbs up Gear/Tire Adjustment - 3.0+ Scanner

    Gear/Tire Adjustment is available for vehicles equipped with the following PCMs:

    • NGC3 CAN
    • NGC4
    • NGC4A
    • GPEC2
    • GPEC2A, 2014 Dodge Trucks
    • GPEC2, 2015+ Dodge
    • GPEC2A, 2015+ Dodge


    This feature is available now in VCM Scanner 3.0. All you need to do is connect the vehicle to the scanner and click on the green "Power Icon" (Vehicle Controls & Special Functions). If it is available for your vehicle, there will be a button to start the function. Once you start the function, you will first be asked to change the Gear Ratio followed by the Tire Size.

    NOTE: If your vehicle is equipped with an EGS52 or EGS53 TCM, there will be another button that you will have to press to perform an "EGS5x Init". That will cause the TCM to re-learn the new gear/tire settings. This must be done AFTER you make the gear/tire adjustment.


    If you have a vehicle that you know is equipped with one of the PCMs above, but the function is not available to you or if you encounter issues while using this function, please email support. Make sure to include your VCM Suite Infolog and screenshots of the issue.


    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by Mark@HPTuners; 02-24-2016 at 12:57 PM.

  2. #2
    Senior Tuner
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Posts
    1,688
    This closes the gap now 100% on HP Tuner and trans control. Thank you very much.

  3. #3
    Advanced Tuner
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Portersville, Pa
    Posts
    278
    NICE!!!!!!!

    Just in the nick of time! I had an email from a remote tuning customer that just put a new diff in with an "unsupported" gear ratio in his handheld device. He sent an email this morning to tell me he was pulling the gear. I decided to check in here to see if there was any progress on this and BINGO!

    Thanks HPTuners!!!

  4. #4
    Thank You

  5. #5
    Advanced Tuner
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Paris, France
    Posts
    431
    Sweet!
    http://www.lsxcalibration.com - Lsx Tuning France - Spécialisé Reprogrammation moteur Corvette Camaro Hummer, Ford Mustang et autres véhicules US

    Check our Facebook page http://www.facebook.com/lsxcalibration.com

  6. #6
    Tuner in Training
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    15
    Nice!
    Edwin P. Gregory III
    SOUTHERN HOTROD, LLC
    2230 Richland St.
    Kenner, LA 70062
    SOUTHERNHOTROD.com
    888-BIG-HEMI

  7. #7
    If I'm not running the stock gear ratio that came on the jeep can
    You program the Tcm?

  8. #8
    HPT Employee Engineer@HPT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    fecadefa
    Posts
    612
    Give it a try. It should work.

  9. #9
    Advanced Tuner
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Rancho Santa Margarita, CA
    Posts
    897
    I have modified the tire size with Superchips Flashcal, would I need to put the stock value back before attempting to modify the tire size with Hptuners ? or it wouldn't matter at all ?

    Also, I don't see the trans parameters to modify in the current file I have for my Jeep, which I believe I can fix doing a full read ?
    if so, what would happen to my stock file if I need to put it back ? at the time I read that file, we didn't have trans support, I haven't modified anything in my trans other than the tire size, and I don't think this info is written in the calibration with the editor since we'll be changing this with the scanner.

    Thanks a lot.
    Last edited by bluegoat06; 11-27-2015 at 12:18 PM.
    2015 Dodge Challenger R/T Scatpack, M6

  10. #10
    Advanced Tuner
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Rancho Santa Margarita, CA
    Posts
    897
    I did a full read, and now I have the trans parameters in the new file, what will happen to my stock file ? would it become useless to load back ?
    I got this notification after the full read

    HPT_after_trans_update by SilverFJ RSM, on Flickr
    2015 Dodge Challenger R/T Scatpack, M6

  11. #11
    HPT Employee Engineer@HPT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    fecadefa
    Posts
    612
    This is just telling you that your trans calibration is outdated. No harm in using the file provided.

  12. #12
    Advanced Tuner
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Rancho Santa Margarita, CA
    Posts
    897
    Thanks Engineer, can you tell me what happens with my stock file ? would it have the stock trans values even though I don't see them when I open up that calibration ?
    Or should I load the factory calibration back now, then do another read to get a new stock file with the TCM values in it that I can see ?
    2015 Dodge Challenger R/T Scatpack, M6

  13. #13
    Advanced Tuner
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Rancho Santa Margarita, CA
    Posts
    897
    Another question, I do have the EGS5x Init option in my scanner when i'm connected to my 2013 Jeep Wrangler.
    To clarify how this should work, i'll change the tire size first and/or gear ratio as needed, then hit "EGS5x Init" ?
    or hit EGS5x Init first, then change the tire size and/or gear ratio next ?
    Sorry for so many questions, again, I used Flashcal to change the tire in my vehicle, and whatever Superchips does to change tire sizes, is still loaded in there, my guess is that I can simply override the tire size with HPT, I just want to make sure before I click and commit.
    2015 Dodge Challenger R/T Scatpack, M6

  14. #14
    HPT Employee Engineer@HPT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    fecadefa
    Posts
    612
    First, flash the file that is provided by us (you can make any changes you want at the same time). Then do the gear ratio change. Then do the EGS Init.

  15. #15
    Potential Tuner
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Posts
    8
    Im getting a blank box when i press the green button as well after connecting vcm scanner i cannot view any pids. Lets me see codes and thats it. Worthless otherwise. 2005 ram 2500 pcm.

  16. #16
    Senior Tuner
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    South Carolina
    Posts
    1,530
    Quote Originally Posted by Uguessedit View Post
    Im getting a blank box when i press the green button as well after connecting vcm scanner i cannot view any pids. Lets me see codes and thats it. Worthless otherwise. 2005 ram 2500 pcm.
    What version of software are you running?
    Jaime

  17. #17
    Tuner in Training
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Posts
    42
    14 grand Cherokee SRT. Getting abs light after changing tire size. This common?

  18. #18
    Potential Tuner
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Posts
    4
    Quote Originally Posted by Engineer@HPT View Post
    Give it a try. It should work.
    This may save my life, I have a 2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee with a 5.7L and 545RFE I just got 4.11 gears done and every tuner I've found only allows 3.05 / 3.55 / 3.73 so I'm a fish out of water right now (originally was told my diablo would work but it doesnt) so now I can't drive my Jeep and need a solution asap, will this allow me to change the ratio on my 2005 Grand Cherokee to a non factory gear ratio? I will buy this asap.
    Last edited by lxr200; 10-30-2016 at 03:33 AM.

  19. #19
    Tuner in Training
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Posts
    10
    worked perfect on a 15 ram 1500

  20. #20
    Advanced Tuner
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Posts
    214
    speedo now scans at 319 after gear change from 3.55 to 4.10