Thread: New to tuning

Tuner in Training

New to tuning

I'm new to tuning and using hptuners. I have an 04.5 with a s366 90hp injectors and arson 3 kit. Been tuned with a smarty with tntr on lvl 5. I liked the way it handle in mid-range to high rpms. Only problem was the spool off the line from a idle, but after about 1800 rpms it ran great. I started by adjusting injection pw starting around 1400 rpm and smoothed the tables out. Let me know how I'm doing and what other things i could adjust to help the spool down low.

04.5 minor adjustments.hpt

Tuner
    I would say load smarty back in and log. If you're happy with the smarty in the mid and top end, try and replicate the smarty log in your tunes log, taking note of their pilot and main PW, mm3 hit, pilot and main timing etc. I think a 366 will no doubt be a little laggy on the bottom, but you could fiddle with pilot/main timing and smoke control to get it to light as quick as possible. Smarty probably has rail jacked up a touch too. Whether or not you choose to run higher rail is up to you. My own 04.5 isn't a barn stormer, so I've kept rail stock, just smoothed it some. I'm only relatively new to the Cummins 5.9, so others may correct my advice.

Don't be too frustrated when you spend hours going through tables making small changes, then loading it in only for it to do quirky weird stuff. That's all part of the fun!

Tuner in Training
    When i load the smarty back on the truck i cant get it to read the pilot and main pw mmm3 hit and timing to to the extended code not being there unless im not doing it right but ill try after work tonight.

Tuner
    hmm ok, well that makes it a little difficult. I don't have a smarty, was just assuming it would log!

Quote Originally Posted by muz79 View Post
    hmm ok, well that makes it a little difficult. I don't have a smarty, was just assuming it would log!