Thread: LTFT +25 only when K&N installed. Logs and cfg included

Potential Tuner

LTFT +25 only when K&N installed. Logs and cfg included

I'm a total noob to HP tuners, but not to engines so here goes.

2000 Yukon 5.3/A4. The only programming change done is to disable the EVAP codes and unplugged the EVAP solenoid on the intake. The only mod is on a whim years ago I removed the MAF from the stock airbox, removed the airbox, and installed a spare cone-style filter that I had directly to the inlet of the MAF.

I disabled the EVAP the line back to the tank is broken and I don't want to drop the tank again. It was causing rough idle and stumbling to the point the engine would die due to unmetered air coming into the EVAP purge valve. After disableing the EVAP the truck runs as well as ever, BUT...

In the course of scanning the engine just to see how everything looked I noticed that my LTFT are running +25 which would tell me that there is an air leak somewhere that the engine can't completely compensate for or possible MAF problems among other less likely things. I have a spare MAF handy so I was going to swap, but when I removed the K&N the STFT started pulling fuel to the point that the LTFT settled to +1 to +2 which I would consider normal. I went ahead and swapped MAF just for curiosity sake but the problem is still repeatable and the numbers are the same for each MAF (which I assume are both good).

In my log, the filter is OFF just before 19:18:06, ON at 19:20:00 OFF again at 19:24:42. I repeated this several other times. Watching the MAF signal I can see that the filter is some restriction, which I would assume would cut airflow and require less fuel lower LTFT. Removed I would assume more airflow and more fuel higher LTFT. It seems completely backwards to me.