Thread: Newbie licensing & MVPI question?

Newbie licensing & MVPI question?

Hello,
    I'm new to owning HP tuners MPVI Pro myself and haven't even plugged it into the car yet but I have a professional tuner tune my car but I need it for changing a few things since my tuner is 300 miles away and we can email back and forth etc. Anyway I have 3 questions. (Yes I did search for my answer first but haven't found answers)

1. I've got a 02 C5 that usually uses 2 credits, but my tuner says since mine is now speed density 3.0 bar E85 tuned it'll now need 4 credits to license it on my own HP tuners. Is this correct? if so, how/where do I license it to use these 4 credits or is HPT smart enough it'll already know I need to use this many credits when I go to license it?

2. On my interface box I have a record/play buttons and I'm not sure how this works, what I mean is, from what I can figure out this is for data logging? if so, is this the same feature that is in the scanning part that I can record/play back a log as well? if so, how does that work or how are the two different?

3. Last, my interface box came with a green 9 pin connector for inputs but I technically don't need this to data log right since it'll use the factory inputs to get all the data it needs? (O2s, IAT, etc)?

Thanks for the help in advance!
    2002 C5 Vette - 408, YSI 10 rib, E85, ID1700's, Holley hi-ram, triple intank 450L Walbros, RPM drivetrain

1954 Ford hardtop - 2001 6.0L, SI cam, other goodies, 4l80e, nitrous outlet plate, Circle D converter, 9" ford - Airbagged 2 link (Ultimate Sleeper!)

Advanced Tuner
    1. No, as of about a year ago all 2/3Bar enhanced OS's are free. Just 2 credits for your car. Yes, HPT will tell you how many credits you need to license the file once you go to license it.
    2. Yes, this is for standalone data logging. Never tried it personally, have to search on here for how to use it.