Thread: 5.9 CR mileage tune

Tuner

5.9 CR mileage tune

Hey,
    I'm new to diesel tuning so I'm Gona have to spend some time learning how it all works. Most of my time was spent in my 2000 LS1 turbo camaro's PCM and have a good understanding of that side of things. But I'm happy to see HP tuners now supports the ford 6.4 and cummins 5.9 which I both have and want to do some tuning on. My 6.4 is running some nice custom tunes so it doesn't need too much work right now. But immediately I want to get rid of the bully dog tune from my 05 5.9 CR. Are there any suggestions on areas to focus on first to improve mpg? Stock truck running afe intake and blade runner turbo with 4" Exhuast. I was interested in removing pilot and post injection events but does this compromise how engine runs? I don't think I need to worry about cold starts since it lives in heater shop. I'm looking for good mileage and do love sound of 5.9.

Would like to hear other people's input

Thanks
    Chris T.

2014 F350 6.7 Powerstroke.
    2008 Ford F350 Super Duty 6.4L 72MM turbo
    2007 Escalade 6.2L
    2007 Yukon Denal 6.2L
    2010 Lexus RX350 3.5L
    2001 Tacoma 3.4
    2000 Camaro SS LS1 M6 - STS Turbo
    1998 Dodge Cummins 12v 5spd
    1998 Topkick Cat 3126E 7.2L
    1983 Toyota Pickup
    1982 Toyota Pickup
    2006 DRZ400
    2008 Turbo Nytro
    2010 Skidoo XP 800
    1978 Corvette

Tuner
    I'm new to the diesel scene as well but on my 05 cummins I killed the post injection and smoothed the pilot injection tables along with the rail pressure, duration and main timing tables, gained 4mpg over factory tables

Quote Originally Posted by y2konyxss View Post
    Hey,
    I was interested in removing pilot and post injection events but does this compromise how engine runs? I don't think I need to worry about cold starts since it lives in heater shop. I'm looking for good mileage and do love sound of 5.9.

Would like to hear other people's input

Thanks