Thread: Shifts great n/a, not so great w/100shot

Tuner in Training

Shifts great n/a, not so great w/100shot

LS1 H/C/I 400RWHP N/A
    RPM level 5 4l60E
    3600 miles on build
    Yank SS 3600 stall

Been dealing with this 2-3 shift issue for some time now and it has never been right. At the strip the car shifts perfect and is very consistent on just motor. When I try to hit it with a 100hp shot it hangs and hits the rev limiter until I lift. About 500 miles ago I took the trans out and sent it back to RPM. They tore it apart and said it was fine so I'm thinking it must be the tune. Im not a tuning expert but have tried minor adjustments to some of my trans tables. Nothing has worked. Help Please!!!!

I would try dropping the 2nd to 3rd shift speed down about 5mph or so. You have it at 81 mph at 6450. Your log shows 82mph at 6400 which is really close. Using the nitrous and taking into consideration that it takes some time for the trans to actually complete the shift, I think it should be about 76 mph. Be sure and change all full throttle tables. On my 4L80, I have the desired shift times set to .125 on my drag tune. My street tune is a little softer.
    Last edited by Lakegoat; 06-01-2016 at 11:45 AM.
    2000 Camaro SS 2015 L83 port injected, Whipple 3.0, 4L80E, 8.8 Ford
    2013 Silverado 5.3, 6L80k 8.8

Tuner in Training
    Thanks for replying Lakegoat. You may be right about the shift speed being too close. From my reading other threads 5mph early and wait for the commanded rpm seems to be what is recommended. I have tried adjusting my shift speeds but I may have adjusted the speed and the shift rpm together. Do you have all your shift times set at .125 on your drag tune? At one point I had them all set to zero but have since changed them to what they are now. Neither setting has worked. Appreciate the help.