Thread: First Gen 5 - a couple quick questions.

Potential Tuner

First Gen 5 - a couple quick questions.

I was hoping someone may be able to help me out with a few definitions / interactions. I am new to the Gen 5s and the definitions and tuning methodology are quite a bit different from what I am used to on other platforms. Have been reading and searching through gen 5 posts for a few days and haven't been able to find a conclusive answer:

The main things I would like to confirm are:

1 - Which retard data item is actually being driven by knock? There is "retard degrees" on the log graph and then there is "total knock retard" and "knock retard" on the data list as well.
    2- On the cam position, I have read that the values for variable cam position are in degrees of retard from maximum. So 0 is full advance, 2 is 2 degrees retarded etc. I just want to confirm this is true?
    3 - the logged value for cam is "intake cam angle" is this degrees of retard as well or degrees of advance?
    4 - I have read that the VE tables are still referenced when the vehicle is in MAF mode for various functions. Can you confirm this, and maybe direct me to which are the primary VE maps that need to be dialed in?

Many Thanks!

Yes the VVE is still used even in MAF only mode. VVE is under the EDIT tab because there are no primary VE tables. There should be 4 "tables" to choose from and you'd be making changes to both the open and closed tables. No need to change the DoD ones.
    2016 Silverado CCSB 5.3/6L80e, not as slow but still heavy.

If you don't post your tune and logs when you have questions you aren't helping yourself.

Quote Originally Posted by Boosted2.0 View Post