Thread: Newbie questions about torque management

Tuner in Training

Newbie questions about torque management

Hi, I'm new here. I'm just getting into tuning my 06 sierra denali, and the first thing I want to focus on is tq management. I don't want to delete it all, as all i have is a corvette servo and would prefer to not grenade it right off the bat. My question is more how it works. So I understand that under engine torque management, you can change how much timing it pulls based on tm. My question is, does the transmission side have a different kind of tm (i.e., changing shift pressure or points) or does it just pull timing too? I took 80 percent out of the spark retard vs torque reduction, and it feels alot stronger, but if the trans uses its own tm, id like to disable that completely and let the trans do the managing.

Another question I have is if i go to trans/torque management, my normal torque reduction table is all 0s and my performance actually has values. I was under the impression that the performance table was with tow/haul enabled and normal was without it enabled. Does that mean that it has no torque management during normal mode?

Thanks for all the help and I'm happy to join the community!

Tuner in Training
    I guess it would kind of make sense if the performance mode was the only mode that enabled tm, as normally when you put it into tow/haul, you are pulling a trailer or have a heavy load in the bed. I guess I'm just looking for clarification on that.

Tuner in Training