Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: e39a ECU with LFX swap guidance

Tuner in Training

e39 ECU and LXF Swap

I have a LFX swap running a e39 ECU in a project I am working on. Started off with e39a but too many issues. I am new to HPT and could use some help, input and advice in general.

The base tune is from a great group of guys out of FL. Since I live at 7500' and they are at sea level I have a bit of work to do.

Runs and idles OK with a fair bit of surge and seems to work overall except the REV limit seems to be engaging at ~5700. All of the values I can find in HPT show it should go to 7100. Would love some help figuring out how to adjust this.

Motor is throwing a P0018 and a P0019 DTC. If I clear the codes after startup they come back but I am going to try to move cam sensors from bank 2 to bank 1 later tonight to see if I can make the error move from bank 2 to 1. I am new to the DOHC VVT engines so I wonder if this is actually more from the actuator than the cam sensors themselves. Not sure and more research to do there..... I can see cam pulses from both intake and both exhaust cams when running so I doubt the issue is with the cam sensors but it will be a fun one to troubleshoot and learn from.

I also attached a log using this base tune. It starts off with a run up in PE and then some cruising. Feels strong but what wouldn't in a 1800lb stripped chassis. My beginner understanding is that the LT Trims are running lean and the WB O2 agrees but this could be normal and desired for the LFX. My reading last night seemed to indicated that these motors like to run lean and I am not recording any KR so that is a plus. I hate that my intake temps are so high and I am trying to find a creative way to cool them off in the limited space of a 90 miata engine bay. That will take some time to design and implement so it will have to wait.