Thread: 5.3 cam tune help

Potential Tuner

5.3 cam tune help

I have a 05 5.3 in a 77 impala with a ls6 intake,shorty headers and a 223/232 614/599 with 111lsa cam.the whole tune is off and i could really use help to get it idling decent.ill try to post the tune and logs that i have so far asap..thx allot for any help you can give me

Tuner in Training
    Hey Josh, I'm still a newbie myself but sort of figured out some stuff and I'll try to relay that information to ya. My knowledge is fairly limited and all derived from my 1999 GMC Sierra 1500 with a 5.3l V8 Automatic that is fairly stock. I'm still trying to figure out my own stuff as well.

Depending on what equipment you're working on this will all be different. The information I am giving you will help if used from a stock file, which I'm assuming you're using an 2005 file(I've not looked at one yet). All of my information will also be different for your application, larger cams are harder to idle as well. If you can you should figure out your cam overlap. Negative overlap is better for idle, and positive overlap is more difficult to get engines to idle.

Before we even start make sure your fuel injector values are set up correctly for what is inside the engine or none of the changes to air or fuel will be correct.