Thread: Wideband VE Tuning Questions

Tuner

Wideband VE Tuning Questions

Bear with me here; this is my first time with this specific kind of tuning and my first shot at LS Motors (lots of carb/mechanical injection experience as well as various other kinds of electronic injection). The car is an '04-base model/M6 Vette with Tsunami cam, headers, full exhaust.
    1) Turn off items during VE tuning or not? It seems harmless to turn off COT, DFCO & LTFT but I've heard people go both ways on turning off PE & MAF. It seems leaving the MAF on would cause unwanted compensation when trying to adjust the VE tables?
    2) If I want to tune with a wide-band and take out one of the front O2 sensors to install it won't that screw up STFT thereby negating any efforts at VE tuning? If you're tuning VE based upon STFT the front O2 sensors both have to be in, correct?
    3) My answers may come from the first two questions but it seems my VE changes (based upon the STFT - RPM-MAP table) throw the fuel trims way in either direction but never close to the middle. I'm using the "multiple by half percent" special paste but I can't seem to nail anything down.

1. I disable those things when tuning, nothing wrong with that. Correct you can not leave the MAF on while tuning the VE, it's going to skew everything and it won't be running solely off the VE like you need it to.

2. If you are using the wideband don't even use fuel trims at all. It would just make everything worse. The purpose is to tune the VE in open loop only with only the wideband AFR or lambda error making the corrections. Once the VE is dialed in with the wideband you can enable the trims again and see how it acts. You can make further corrections from there if need be.
    2016 Silverado CCSB 5.3/6L80e, not as slow but still heavy.

If you don't post your tune and logs when you have questions you aren't helping yourself.

Tuner
    Quote Originally Posted by 5FDP View Post