Thread: HP Tuners VCM, FORscan, and 6.0L Tuning Parameters

Tuner in Training

HP Tuners VCM, FORscan, and 6.0L Tuning Parameters

I see a lot of people mentioning using FORscan, but are they using the HPTuners cable interface to connect through FORscan or running a different set of cables?

Sorry, I'm a tech and wanting to know. I have access to IDS (shop shared), but want my own dedicated setup that I can use. FORscan is pretty powerful, and would suffice in most circumstances. Tuning my 6.0L would be also be a plus. Ive got a Quarterhorse to tune my EECV Mustang. I had HPTuners to tune my old turbo Cavalier back in the day, around 2008. But I am unfamiliar with what I'm working to adjust on a Diesel. Based on other peoples posts, you pretty much just want to add a little desired fuel mass down low, a little timing, and change desired boost by a little bit.

Don't forget to disable, or increase the torque management settings.

And the tuning just depends on what YOU really want out off the truck. There are some good tow tunes posted in here, and the repository has a good performance tune that I used as a base starting point. There's not a lot of people tuning these 6.0's apparently with hp tuners, so be patient, people will help, it just takes then a lot longer than it does over in the GM LS forum lol..

i love playing with mine i can't get it perfect where i want it im either really laggy and smoky or im clean and fast boosting but not as much power as before mention once it lights and as far as timing goes i have played with just timing on it up and down and i can't tell any difference on boost or take off hell i put 10* down low it idled like crap but didn't pull no harder on a take off

Tuner in Training
    Ill have to check out those tow tunes. Being a Ford tech in a small town, we see a lot of 6.0L diesels. Many of them are on canned tunes. I guess I could always read them and see what kind of stuff they are doing.