Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Whipple 392 Tips

Senior Tuner

Whipple 392 Tips

Any advice for AFR and timing on a forged 392 running a 2.9 Whipple at 12-14 psi? I'm fairly new to the Dodge tuning world and had one dropped off yesterday to tune. Seems like knock sensors need dialed back quite a bit so I want to be careful and try to get a little advice from those more experienced with these cars.

Thanks

Senior Tuner
    I am already at 1.75 times the stock knock sensor voltage values and still getting tip in knock and peak torque knock with almost no boost (3-4psi) on my twin turbo, forged 392 setup (9.5:1 compression). I am running about 100-102 octane and logging my knock sensor voltages. I get some spikes sometimes over 4 volts on the knock sensors which to me seems like legit knock. I truly hope not as I am barely pushing this setup so far.

At tip in timing is around 8-9* and I am targeting 11:1 AFR, all very conservative. Once I have everything dialed in I hope to be closer to 11.5 AFR and maybe a degree or two more timing. I get to about 13-14* of timing near redline now and knock has all but gone to zero by then.

Senior Tuner
    on my 9:1 compression 426ci whipple setup, on 93 octane and 15-16psi of boost I was able to run around 16-17* of total timing (near 7k rpm redline) and had knock sensor values about 2x stock. Plugs showed no signs of any detonation.

Once I dialed it up with some meth and eventually some MS109 I got well over 20 degrees timing and AFRs around 11.7-11.8, which is where I found peak power.

Senior Tuner