Thread: Disabling Short Term Fuel Trim

Tuner in Training

Disabling Short Term Fuel Trim

I have been at dyno for half of day today and I was unable to achieve more power beyond 5.5K RPM as short term fuel trim would kick in and gradually increase which then rich out AFR from 12.5 to 10.0. Does anybody know how to disable Short term fuel trim, perhaps, it's hidden in a correction table? If not, is that feature hidden?

Software version is 4.0.6

Attached is my log file. Please help! I'm also not a professional tuner so go easy on me.

Thank you,

Steve
    Attached Files Attached Files

Post the tune file

Tuner in Training
    Quote Originally Posted by BackyardTurbo_FTW View Post
    Post the tune file
    Oops... See attached! After this, I have tried modifying lamda value from 0.7 to 0.82 but haven't dyno yet. Although, short term fuel trim was still kicking in at higher RPM.

Also, I notice a HP flats out at 5.5K RPM. Is there any to pick up the power from 5.5K and up? I'm assuming it's because after 5.5K short term fuel trim kicks in and rich out AFR which cause the power band to flat out.

2 problems I see right away.

You need to set the base lambda table flatter at higher temps to maintain the AFR you want (further negative is higher EGT temps), it tapers to .70. Log delta temperature and you will see you are just commanding a richer AFR as you go thru the pull which is why you see it running richer. Use the files I attached in the next post to log the car, it will show you the STFT isnt making the AFR richer, its actually being commanded richer.

Second, set the EGT Torque limit table to 100 across the table. Same thing is happening here, as the EGT is rising it is getting richer and pulling power back.

You're also going to want to raise the wheel tq vs VSS table or you will start hitting power reduction mode when trying to do pulls in lower gears.
    Last edited by BackyardTurbo_FTW; 06-19-2018 at 07:25 AM.