Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: 2013 ML63 AMG M157 Tuning proceedures

Potential Tuner

2013 ML63 AMG M157 Tuning proceedures

Hey Everyone,

This is my first time using HP Tuners in general, although we have been tuning other platforms via COBB and EcuTek and Opensource for nearly a decade. We have a 4WD Dyno Dynamics Chassis dyno in house and have already performed a baseline and look forward to the improvements.

Our development vehicle is a 2013 ML63 AMG

My MPVI2 just arrived in the mail today and we are ready to use it!

As per HP Tuners Mercedes PCM Modifications instructions I have downloaded the latest software VCM Editor 4.0.6 and updated the firmware on the MPVI2. I currently have not purchased any credits yet.

Step 1 is to read my original ECU so I can send that data into HP Tuners with either the ECU or another ECU to have them modify it so that I can tune it.

I connected the dongle / cable to my vehicle and with the key on (all lights on dash on) but not running tried to read the ECU. When I push Read or Gather info once it pulls up my VIN and year/make/model correctly. It gives me only one option to read the PCM for my year/make/model and when I press read again it fails to initialize and read the ECU.

I can't find any information on if I'm doing the procedure correctly or not, I know on some cars like GTR's things like the climate control needs to be off during certain procedures ect.

I've emailed HP Tuners support as well, but being Australian the time frame is usually pretty different so I'm hoping for a faster reply here.

Thanks!

I apologize, there is a mistake in the product description. We will fix that shortly. The PCM cannot be read until after the modification. You can go ahead and send us the original PCM without the read.

Potential Tuner
    In this situation is it possible for me to ship my original ECU in, as well as a used ECU with the same part number and have the original ECU read but the used ecu modified?