Thread: surging and stalling at idel

Tuner in Training

surging and stalling at idel

hello everyone. I've been working on my tune on and off for a few months. finally have my cartridge style maf in and calibrated and turned my ve stuff back on. It ran great the first day but after a few drives it developed surging and stalling when coming to a stop. it also has a slight hesitation when I first start accelerating from a stop. I have a afx wideband but is reads lower on the tunner than on the display so I don't really trust it.

5.3 with BTR stage 3 truck cam, 243 heads milled .20, tbss intake, 90mm Chinese throttle body, ebay cold air intake, long tube headers, 3600 fti stall

I have a short log of a cold start and then backing down the driveway it surges and dies.
    advice is appreciated.
    Attached Files Attached Files

Senior Tuner cobaltssoverbooster's Avatar
    Trust the gauge readout of the wideband. Transform your wideband channel to make the scanner match the gauge display.

Tuner in Training
    Thanks for the input cobalt. I have fooled with it some and got it closer than when i started. Its about .3 lower most of the time. I do need to adjust it some more.

Tuner in Training
    Also wanted to mention it doesn't surge much on my way to work when its 1pm and 93F outside. On the way home its close to 75F and it has alot more trouble staying running.

it sounds like its learning itself bad. You need to limit how much your adaptive idle learns in the lower rpm cells. I had an issue like that. reflash it with no changes and work perfect for about 15-20 minutes of driving. if you log your LTIT and STIT (short and long term idle trim) you should have not much correction in either one. If you do and your running airflow is correct, then it is learning itself wrong. I assume you have a cam? the idle fluctuation from a cam will cause this.
    2004 5.7 gto
    7875 turbo
    Heads/cam

Tuner in Training