Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: Using GPS Speedo From Gopro and Data From HPT.csv

  1. #1
    Tuner in Training
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Posts
    15

    Using GPS Speedo From Gopro and Data From HPT.csv

    Here I am again. I logged my mile run successfully with HP Tuners and recorded it on a GoPro 7 Black and am trying to render a video with the rpm data from .csv file and use gopro data file for gps speedometer. I have the video and rpm data synced perfectly, but am having trouble getting the data from the gopro to display gps speedometer. The gopro gps does work as I already made a gopro video with this same data on their quick app. Maybe I'm not choosing the correct settings I'm sure.
    Attached Images Attached Images

  2. #2
    Jason, did you select calculate MPH? Have you tried Automatic? What other selections are there for that drop down box?

  3. #3
    Tuner in Training
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Posts
    15
    I'm not at my pc right now so I couldn't say for sure, but I have tried many different combinations without success. The .csv file works, but only to 160 MPH so I need to use GPS. In the past I have used the track addict app and it worked perfect, never relied on gopro for gps data.

  4. #4
    It is difficult to determine what the issue is without looking at the file. Is it possible to provide a sample of the csv file so we can analyse it?

  5. #5
    Tuner in Training
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Posts
    15
    Quote Originally Posted by Candive View Post
    It is difficult to determine what the issue is without looking at the file. Is it possible to provide a sample of the csv file so we can analyse it?
    For some reason I can't upload it. However, I'm trying to use GPS data from GoPro so isn't .csv irrelevant? I hope you don't take that wrong as I appreciate the help. The GPS data works, but cant get Racerender to make it work. Here is proof GoPro's data works...

    https://youtu.be/58ShPhbZleM

  6. #6
    Great video. You can use Dropbox or Onedrive to load your data file and then post the link. But I'm now a little confused. Where did the csv file originally come from? After rereading your post I now realise that the csv wasn't generated by the Gopro and only captures rpm; not speed. What I think we need is the data file from the Gopro and you export that file as a csv. What you have to ensure is that your speedometer is referencing the right data file and field. Also you may need to do a conversion to get the expected speed. Does that make sense? Personally I don't use a Gopro but the principal should be basically the same for all action cameras.
    Last edited by Candive; 1 Week Ago at 06:01 AM.

  7. #7
    Tuner in Training
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Posts
    15
    Quote Originally Posted by Candive View Post
    Great video. You can use Dropbox or Onedrive to load your data file and then post the link. But I'm now a little confused. Where did the csv file originally come from? After rereading your post I now realise that the csv wasn't generated by the Gopro and only captures rpm; not speed. What I think we need is the data file from the Gopro and you export that file as a csv. What you have to ensure is that your speedometer is referencing the right data file and field. Also you may need to do a conversion to get the expected speed. Does that make sense? Personally I don't use a Gopro but the principal should be basically the same for all action cameras.
    I logged the run using HP Tuners on my laptop, that is where I got the .csv file. I am trying to use the GPS data for MPH from Gopro. I can get MPH from the .csv file, but as you know it maxes out at 160 :-(

  8. #8
    Now I understand, If you load just the video and not the csv, are you able to get any reading from the speedo?

  9. #9
    Tuner in Training
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Posts
    15
    Quote Originally Posted by Candive View Post
    Now I understand, If you load just the video and not the csv, are you able to get any reading from the speedo?
    I just tried that per your suggestion and got nothing from the speedo. When you load the video file it tells you there is also gps data would you like to use it? I click yes and it shows gopro data in the appropriate box. It puts the speedo overlay on the video, but doesn't do anything the entire time. I'll stick with my usual method from now on, Iphone and track addict.

  10. #10
    Hi Jason,
    If you right click the file and save it as a csv, you can then open it up in excel and view what data columns have been extracted. You could even attach it or a portion of it to your post and this will give members the opportunity to review it if you like.

  11. #11
    Tuner in Training
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Posts
    15
    Quote Originally Posted by Candive View Post
    Hi Jason,
    If you right click the file and save it as a csv, you can then open it up in excel and view what data columns have been extracted. You could even attach it or a portion of it to your post and this will give members the opportunity to review it if you like.
    I will try that thanks.

  12. #12
    Tuner in Training
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Posts
    15
    Quote Originally Posted by Candive View Post
    Hi Jason,
    If you right click the file and save it as a csv, you can then open it up in excel and view what data columns have been extracted. You could even attach it or a portion of it to your post and this will give members the opportunity to review it if you like.
    GH015107-RR_Data.csv

  13. #13
    I had a quick look. I think you posted the first 23 seconds of the file. But your car doesn't go until 1:20 according to your video. So the speed which I get is zero which is expected if the vehicle isn't moving. So the data needed is the last portion or the actual movement of the car.

  14. #14
    Tuner in Training
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Posts
    15
    Quote Originally Posted by Candive View Post
    I had a quick look. I think you posted the first 23 seconds of the file. But your car doesn't go until 1:20 according to your video. So the speed which I get is zero which is expected if the vehicle isn't moving. So the data needed is the last portion or the actual movement of the car.
    Thanks for looking. I guess there is a disconnect the way racerender collects gps data from gopro then?