Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Does this look like a bad map sensor?

Tuner in Training

Does this look like a bad map sensor?

Hello everyone I think my map is going bad I'm new to diagnosing with hptuners but my truck has been surging and stalling at idle speed and this is what I see on my logger looks like my kpa goes to 100kpa without warning truck surges then goes back to idle comfort zone 40 or so then I give it some pedal the map will start reading normal for a short period then does it again about three key cycles later .https://www.dropbox.com/s/fpxf0oecye...14554.jpg?dl=0

Advanced Tuner
    Quote Originally Posted by Babyocho View Post
    Hello everyone I think my map is going bad I'm new to diagnosing with hptuners but my truck has been surging and stalling at idle speed and this is what I see on my logger looks like my kpa goes to 100kpa without warning truck surges then goes back to idle comfort zone 40 or so then I give it some pedal the map will start reading normal for a short period then does it again about three key cycles later .https://www.dropbox.com/s/fpxf0oecye...14554.jpg?dl=0
    Instead of posting a picture of the log, why not post the log itself? Would be alot more helpful to see more of the story and scroll around the issue to see how things are acting/reacting.

In any event, from the looks of things, it doesn't appear to be a bad map sensor. It looks like the MAP signal is spiking due to throttle surge (when throttle ramps up suddenly, naturally MAP raises with it). So, I'd be looking into the cause for idle surge.

Tuner in Training
    Thanks man I'll try that next time . I just used a screen shot because I'm away from my laptop but that makes a shit ton more sense to do though . I pulled the map and ran the truck for 5 minutes without touching the pedal and it did it uninterrupted no stumble no stall all it did was adjust timing and tps to deal with the constant 110 on map input and backfired like crazy when revving.